Busy Day Barbeque Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
way too much pepper... got nice and tender, though. Won't make it again without some changes, that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Made it several times and it's sooooooo good...better than in the restaurant! I have never used the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I did not use the smoke flavoring (since I've never used it and don't have any). I liked the tenderness of this meat. I also liked the fact that I could add all the ingredients in the morning, leave it all day, and come home to dinner! It was good. Next time I will add the smoke flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Not impressed. Maybe its because we have excellent brisket everywhere here in Texas. I'm wondering whatever possessed me to cook a brisket in a crock pot. We have other favorite crock pot recipes that we will be sticking with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I decided to follow the recipe exactly b/c of the few negative reviews I read; 3 lb brisket, trimmed of fat (which actually may have helped to tone down the spices had I left it on), carefully measured the spices and liquid smoke (which I use often, btw), cooked for 10 hours on low in a brand new crockpot. The meat was indeed very tender, but the spices were completely overwhelming and the liquid smoke left a weirdly bitter aftertaste. I think the problem with this recipe is that it's an attempt to get a slow-cooked bbq flavor without the bother of tending a bbq for hours. Should have figured that this shortcut would NOT work. HOWEVER, using the spice rub alone, refrigerating the cut overnight and actually putting it on a slow grill and occasionally basting with sauce would probably work great. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very sour, and lacking true blended BBQ flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This a fabulous and easy brisket! I've made it several times now, and it's always been a success. I love how simple it is to just dump everything in the slow cooker and forget about it. It is a bit spicy, so if you're sensitive to spiciness, you might want to cut the cayenne in half. Other than that, it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Really delicious! I followed another reviewer's advice and let the meat marinate in the liquid smoke & dry rub overnight. (The rub makes enough to do the recipe twice.) Just popped it in the crock pot and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
What a disappointment. This was awful. It was way too spicy, and I like spice! The liquid smoke made it even worse. The meat was dry and unappealing. What a waste of a nice piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALENAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Incredible. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilstonic

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States