Busy Day Barbeque Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was over spiced, and not in a good way. It barely crossed the edible mark for us. Rating and reviewing so I'm sure not to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
omitted the cayenne pepper... was plenty peppery enough for out tastes without it! Easy and tender... sliced and served for Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I made this tonight, entire family (all picky eaters) loved it! I omitted the BBQ because we wanted to try something different and it turned out great! I put the dry rub on the meat (1.5 lbs brisket, changed recipe accordingly) then added liquid smoke and worcestershire sauce to the crock pot, and cooked it on low for 6 hours. To finish off, I toasted slider buns under the broiler and added cole slaw on top of the shredded meat for moisture. Perfect sandwich even sans BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was my first brisket and I was a little nervous. But it came out great!!!! Follow directions exactly! Definitely put the rub and liquid smoke on over night. My whole family loved it!!! Will be making again soon. Thanks Shannon :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I used a Texas style brisket rub instead of what recipe called for. It turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Made recipe "as written" and meat for some reason fell apart and was stringy and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
We've made this at least a dozen times now - I don't use quite as much rub as suggested because otherwise it's just too spicy for me, but it still turns out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I thought it was so-so. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UtesCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I had a nice, expensive grassfed beef brisket I didn’t know how to make. I wanted a recipe that would enhance the flavor of the meat while also delivering some barbecue-y goodness. When I opened the crock and had a taste of this, I was so disappointed. The spiciness totally overwhelmed the meat. My mouth was burning and all I could taste was spiciness. I am so irritated that I wasted a good brisket. Grassfed meat tastes delicious all by itself. I can see where if you get crappy cornfed feedlot beef from Sam's Club you might want to cover up the taste. Or maybe you love your mouth being on fire for 5 minutes and not being able to taste anything. I halved the cayenne and it still made it unbearable. I will admit that the BBQ sauce I used might have also contributed to the problem (it’s a sauce I've never had from Trader Joe's that's like KC Masterpiece, I think). The resulting brisket was salty as all getout, further obscuring the taste. It was very tender and relatively moist, however. I think maybe this recipe might be better if the salt and cayenne was totally left out and a mild and/or honey BBQ sauce was used (esp. if the cayenne is left in). I’d have made my own sauce if I had time. I know Southerners have specific preferences in their BBQ based on their geographics, but us Midwesterners have a taste for the subdued. If I made this again, I would leave most of the BBQ sauce out and put it on the meat as desired while eating. I’d find a sub for moisture while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Hands down the best brisket ever. I found that Jack Daniel's Old No. 7 BBQ sauce is the best one to use (after trying several), and not too much liquid smoke as it can overpower the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States