Busy Day Barbeque Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I thought it was so-so. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UtesCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I had a nice, expensive grassfed beef brisket I didn’t know how to make. I wanted a recipe that would enhance the flavor of the meat while also delivering some barbecue-y goodness. When I opened the crock and had a taste of this, I was so disappointed. The spiciness totally overwhelmed the meat. My mouth was burning and all I could taste was spiciness. I am so irritated that I wasted a good brisket. Grassfed meat tastes delicious all by itself. I can see where if you get crappy cornfed feedlot beef from Sam's Club you might want to cover up the taste. Or maybe you love your mouth being on fire for 5 minutes and not being able to taste anything. I halved the cayenne and it still made it unbearable. I will admit that the BBQ sauce I used might have also contributed to the problem (it’s a sauce I've never had from Trader Joe's that's like KC Masterpiece, I think). The resulting brisket was salty as all getout, further obscuring the taste. It was very tender and relatively moist, however. I think maybe this recipe might be better if the salt and cayenne was totally left out and a mild and/or honey BBQ sauce was used (esp. if the cayenne is left in). I’d have made my own sauce if I had time. I know Southerners have specific preferences in their BBQ based on their geographics, but us Midwesterners have a taste for the subdued. If I made this again, I would leave most of the BBQ sauce out and put it on the meat as desired while eating. I’d find a sub for moisture while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Hands down the best brisket ever. I found that Jack Daniel's Old No. 7 BBQ sauce is the best one to use (after trying several), and not too much liquid smoke as it can overpower the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
way too much pepper... got nice and tender, though. Won't make it again without some changes, that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Made it several times and it's sooooooo good...better than in the restaurant! I have never used the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I did not use the smoke flavoring (since I've never used it and don't have any). I liked the tenderness of this meat. I also liked the fact that I could add all the ingredients in the morning, leave it all day, and come home to dinner! It was good. Next time I will add the smoke flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Not impressed. Maybe its because we have excellent brisket everywhere here in Texas. I'm wondering whatever possessed me to cook a brisket in a crock pot. We have other favorite crock pot recipes that we will be sticking with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I decided to follow the recipe exactly b/c of the few negative reviews I read; 3 lb brisket, trimmed of fat (which actually may have helped to tone down the spices had I left it on), carefully measured the spices and liquid smoke (which I use often, btw), cooked for 10 hours on low in a brand new crockpot. The meat was indeed very tender, but the spices were completely overwhelming and the liquid smoke left a weirdly bitter aftertaste. I think the problem with this recipe is that it's an attempt to get a slow-cooked bbq flavor without the bother of tending a bbq for hours. Should have figured that this shortcut would NOT work. HOWEVER, using the spice rub alone, refrigerating the cut overnight and actually putting it on a slow grill and occasionally basting with sauce would probably work great. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very sour, and lacking true blended BBQ flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This a fabulous and easy brisket! I've made it several times now, and it's always been a success. I love how simple it is to just dump everything in the slow cooker and forget about it. It is a bit spicy, so if you're sensitive to spiciness, you might want to cut the cayenne in half. Other than that, it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States