Busy Day Barbeque Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This came out awesome! I followed the recipe exactly as is, although my cut of brisket was closer to two pounds (I made the full amount of rub, but didn't quite use all of it - I did still use the full amount of sauce). Boyfriend LOVED it, we were both pretty impressed with my first attempt. I'd never had brisket before and wasn't sure what to expect, but this was delish! Edit: This also made awesome sandwiches the next day - I just shredded the meat, warmed it up and had it on bulkie rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Followed the recipe to the letter. First time a well rated recipe disappointed me. The rub was overpowering for us. No beef taste at all. If I make again, I will cut the rub down by half, and the thyme by even more. But why bother if I'm just stewing the brisket in BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Mine was fairly dry. The sauce was tangy and formed a nice coating on the outside. The meat certainly fell apart easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Quite good, and tasty. However, was never able to "shred" the meat . . . it just never got soft enough to do so, although it was excellent just sliced thinly and served with the sauce. Did as other reviewers suggested and didn't put the sauce on until after 6 hours on low (at that point drained the meat before adding the sauce/worcestershire mixed). Then another 3 hours on LOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was AWESOME! I put the rub on the brisket last night and put in fridge. Didn't use liquid smoke flavoring because I'm not a fan of it, but I did use Fresh & Easy Jack Daniels BBQ Sauce. My whole family loved this! Served it over mashed potatoes with some veggies on the side. Will DEFINITELY make again, probably using a larger cut of meat because we didn't have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Tried this except used a rub and left it overnight in the fridge. Just stuck in the crock pot and it turned out delicious!!!! Definitely a new great way to cook brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Wasn't bad, but we weren't that into it. That being said, it might have been user error, so I wouldn't be opposed to trying it again. I left the fat cap on the brisket, so I'm sure that helped with any dryness. It was still in a neat strip since I cooked it with that side up, so I cut it off before shredding meat back into the sauce before serving. I had to add the very outer edge of fat back in because that is where the spices were on that 1/2 of the meat. Used only 2# brisket, but by accident didn't decrease the amount of rub (so that might have been problem #1). Also accidentally forgot to rub with liquid smoke 1st before dry rub (so that might have been problem #2). Cooked exactly in time stated. I only used 1/2 the BBQ sauce & worst mix (which is where I wound up putting the smoke after I realized I goofed). The flavor was pretty intense... too saucy...too spicy for the kids but they managed to eat. I really was busy doing other things in the kitchen (canning), so this was a quick enough & simple enough way to get dinner on the table when I knew I wouldn't feel like preparing dinner after a day in the kitchen. Like I said, it might have been a combination of factors, plus a really spicy/smoky bottled sauce... I would try again, but maybe a sweeter bottled sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
this was not to our taste at all. I used Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and followed the recipe to the letter but the entire thing is in the trash can, minus a few bites. It had a very bitter taste and the smokiness was overwhelming. A complete waste of a lot of food and a lot of money. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Obviously you can make this as spicy as you want depending on the type of BBQ sauce. If you are counting your pennies you can buy discounted pot roast instead of brisket. It costs half as much. We seasoned it, put it in the crocket and then the fridge to save time in the morning. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Well I followed the recipe exactly. I found and find Brisket very stringy and tough. The flavor is great but the cut of meat is not my choice. I will choose a different cut of meat when making this again. Three stars for flavor of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States