Buster Bar Ice Cream Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Wow. This was great. I plan to make the fudge topping and keep it in the freezer so that I can make individual servings since this makes enough to serve a boatload of people. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Thank you for this recipe!! It is wonderful and sooooo easy. The fudge topping is the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Fantabulous!!! Deliciously addicting. I grew up loving the Dairy Queen Buster Bar Parfait, so I used Spanish peanuts as suggested by others and simply loved it. Wonderful in the summer, but so good you'll want to crank up the heater in the winter to enjoy it then too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This has been a family standby for decades(3+). I make it even easier by skipping the recipe for the topping and subbing hershy's hot fudge topping. Easier and less expensive than making it. My adult children and nephews cannot tell the difference. You can turn this into a turtle torte by adding carmel drizzles and subbing pecans for the peanuts. The next generation now fights over any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4fun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very, very rich and wonderful during the summer months. TIP: This melts slower if you can tuck the dish into a large Igloo ice chest. You'll want to make sure everyone is ready to eat this when you go to serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is a dead-ringer for the famous DQ Buster Bar. Summarizing reviewers tips that I used: 1) 9" spring form pan works great, 2) semi-sweet chocolate squares, 6 to 8 ounces, and 3) Spanish peanuts. Here's what I learned: 1) as the chocolate mixture begins to boil, turn the heat down (once it begins to boil, it will continue even at a lower temperature) because the chocolate can stick if you are using a low quality pan, 2) it goes without saying, but use a high quality vanilla ice cream, since that's a major ingredient, 3) The recipe calls for a pound of sandwich cookies, but does not mention removing the centers, which I did and I assume is correct, but that is something that should be clarified for inexperienced cooks. High marks to Tym for an excellent idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was fantastic! I made this for a family party and everyone raved about the recipe. My family said it was better than a traditional store bought ice cream cake. I used store bought fudge in place of the chocolate mixture to save time. I wouldn't recommend this becuase the fudge oozed out a little after I cut the dessert. I also created layers starting with the crust, ice cream, crust, peanuts, ice cream, and fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
YUM! this was awesome...used a little less margarine in the base, a few more chocolate chips in the fudge, but otherwise, followed directions exactly. We had it for about a week (just 2 of us!) and it just seemed to get better every day as the fudge sauce flavours really came together. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
we really like the taste - but a bit messy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Felle Eckman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States