Busia's Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
These are the BEST cutout cookies ever. The submitter of the recipe says it best. The wonderful thing about them is that they stay soft in the middle, very similer to the 'Cookie Bouquet' cookies. I highly recomend them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was a difficult review to decide on. I would definitley give it a 5 for ease of working with the dough; it really had the best texture I've ever worked with for cutout cookies. As far as the flavor goes, I would give it a 3 or maybe even a two. I don't like my cookies to be too sweet, but these had very little flavor period. I bet the other reviewer had the right idea though, when they said it was the perfect cookie recipe to use with lots of icing. If you had a really rich icing, I think this would be the perfect cookie dough. And if I were to make cookies with kids, I would definitely use this recipe because of how easy the dough was to work with. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I tried this recipe after an unsuccessful attempt at making cutout cookies. The cookie is not too sweet (which I like - if you prefer a really sweet cookie, this recipe is not for you), and the dough is very easy to handle. The bottoms were golden brown (I baked them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper), and the cookies held their shape very well. Be careful when cooking, as the edges will start to turn golden, but the tops of the cookies themselves do not brown. Mine were done at about 7 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This was a FANTASTIC recipe! The dough was so easy to work with and the cookies were just as described, not too sweet. Frosting is a must since they aren't that sweet but then you have your perfect cutout! These are better and softer the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I get what everybody's saying about these not being sweet enough, because... well they aren't sweet enough. Not to the point where you think you're eating flour, but just not as sweet as most sugar cookies I've made before.. But still really fantastic! This is exactly the kind of sugar cookie recipe I was looking for. I was making Halloween sugar cookies to put onto my son's birthday cake to decorate it, and I was going to put frosting on them anyway. These are great with frosting, and the dough is incredibly easy to work with. I usually don't make cut out cookies because I hate having to roll out the dough and deal with that whole mess but this recipe didn't give me any problem at all. I'll definitely be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This cookie is the PERFECT COOKIE FOR CUT-OUTS!!!! I've been looking for a replacement recipe for my favorite one I lost years ago during a move, and each new one I try, I end up disappointed - UNTIL TODAY!!!!! This is EXACTLY what I was looking for! It's not sweet. It's not crunchy (I suppose you could make it crunchy if you wanted to :). It's not fussy, messy or 'over the top'. It's tasty enough to eat undecorated at all....and not so tasty that icing &/or colored sugar etc...make it 'to much'. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
SOO GOOO AND THE DOUGH IS SOOO EASY TO WORK WITH A REAL WINNER ALTHOUGH I THINK IF U USE MARGARINE INSTED OF BUTTER U NEED TO ADD MORE FLOUR 1/4 OF A CUP IN MY CASE BUT THIS IS A REALLY WONDERFUL RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is an excellent recipe for cutout cookies. I made a double batch and needed to add some flour, as the recipe indicates you might need to. It was too sticky with the amount listed. Topped the cookies with "Royal Icing I" off the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I have made quite a few cutout cookies and this was absolutely the easist dough I have ever worked with! It never stuck to the rolling pin or my hands and the cookies baked up beautifully. The cookies are also durable and freeze well. Bravo for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Super easy recipe and very easy dough to work with! I had never made cut out cookies from scratch when I found this recipe, and I couldn't ask for a better cookie. I have 4 stars because as stated, they aren't very sweet on their own. I use Delilah's frosting recipe from Delia's Frosted Cut Out Cookies and they are always a hit! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States