Busia's Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made these for valentine heart cut outs. This was the easiest cut out cookie I ever made. They were a little bland prior to frosting - but I have a little one that does not like sweet & he loved them. I have 2 older children that love sweet & they passed on them until frosted. I will try the Royal 1 frosting as suggested & can not wait for the finish results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very easy dough to work with, cut perfectly and baked beautifully. Unfortunately, they tasted like corn bread without the corn. Bland and dry. I couldn't eat them, let alone offer them to anybody else. Very dissappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I made these cookies with the grandkids and they were the simplest and tastiest cutout cookies ever. The dough was so easy to work with. This will become a traditional Christmas treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This cookie is the PERFECT COOKIE FOR CUT-OUTS!!!! I've been looking for a replacement recipe for my favorite one I lost years ago during a move, and each new one I try, I end up disappointed - UNTIL TODAY!!!!! This is EXACTLY what I was looking for! It's not sweet. It's not crunchy (I suppose you could make it crunchy if you wanted to :). It's not fussy, messy or 'over the top'. It's tasty enough to eat undecorated at all....and not so tasty that icing &/or colored sugar etc...make it 'to much'. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orient, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Like others have said, the cookies themselves are a bit bland but that is PERFECT if you are going to ice them. If you want to eat plain cookies, these are not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
this is a great recipe!! i made it xactly as it called for, only i did need alittle more flour at the end. everyone raved about them and this is a definite keeper! i got 6 rolls out of a single batch! LOVED 'Em!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This recipe is GREAT!! Thank you so much for sharing. I've been looking for a good recipe for my decorated cookies with no luck, until today. They are not really sweet which is perfect for the Royal icing to go on top. Again Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Super easy to work with, soft, and taste yum! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Saved me! I had to make cookies in the shape of the state of Montana. Tried another recipe - super hard with unrecognizable Montanas. This recipe was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I'm sorry, I followed the recipe as is and these seem bland to me. Yes, easy to work the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States