Busia's Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I didn't like this recipe. The cookies weren't sweet and they were tasteless. Also they were too chewy and very soft. But they were very easy to make which i like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
To me, this was the perfect cookie dough for making cut out cookies for Christmas. This is not meant to be a true sugar cookie recipe. It was very easy to work with and the powdered sugar frosting gave the cookies the perfect sweetness. This recipe matches my mother's recipe that I had unfortunately lost, so I am thrilled to have found this one to hopefully pass on down to my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
These however are perfect not too sweet and you can add decorations without feeling guilty about giving your kids one for a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Minimal spreading, fantastic and not too sweet. Although I did chill them one last time after cutting before baking, just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi-Leigh
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Easy to make, taste delicious! I like that they don't taste overly sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this recipe for a large group and I am so glad that I doubled the amount because they dissapeared! The cookies were perfect, not too sweet and are great with frosting as well! I wouldn't change anything about this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Love this recipe! It was easy to make, easy to manage the dough and the cookies are full of flavor without being disgustingly sweet. The frosting makes them plenty sweet. This is a keeper for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I get what everybody's saying about these not being sweet enough, because... well they aren't sweet enough. Not to the point where you think you're eating flour, but just not as sweet as most sugar cookies I've made before.. But still really fantastic! This is exactly the kind of sugar cookie recipe I was looking for. I was making Halloween sugar cookies to put onto my son's birthday cake to decorate it, and I was going to put frosting on them anyway. These are great with frosting, and the dough is incredibly easy to work with. I usually don't make cut out cookies because I hate having to roll out the dough and deal with that whole mess but this recipe didn't give me any problem at all. I'll definitely be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Super easy recipe and very easy dough to work with! I had never made cut out cookies from scratch when I found this recipe, and I couldn't ask for a better cookie. I have 4 stars because as stated, they aren't very sweet on their own. I use Delilah's frosting recipe from Delia's Frosted Cut Out Cookies and they are always a hit! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
love that they are not too sweet or buttery. they only need a few minutes to cook and then will crisp up just a tad after baking. Best cutout cookie recipe I've used! I will also use this for a pie crust for cold pies. Cutout cookies are not the kind to use whole wheat flour in the recipe but I do use it when rolling them out, every little bit helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States