BUSH'S® Pumpkin Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
These looked really good to me, but my husband thought they sounded strange. By sighting the 5 star rating, I was able to convince him to try them. On flavor, I would give them a 5 stars, however, when I made them, they were very wet and soft, and did not hold their shape very well, even after chilling for 2 hours (quadruple the recommended chill time). I am trying them again, but I've added an egg, and 2/3 cups of bread crumbs. Already they seem much firmer. They are chilling now. I will try to remember to let all know how they turn out this way. EDIT - adding an egg and 2/3 cup of bread crumbs did the trick. Now these hold their shape quite well, and I have increased my previous 4 start rating to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These were easy to make and they tasted okay. They are a little bland, which surprised me with spices such as nutmeg and ginger involved. Sure, the simply solution to that is to add more spices, right? They are easy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These were good and very easy to make. The recipe is good as is or is very easy to change up as well. I made it the first time following the directions but adding a little bit of liquid egg whites. The second time since I didn't have onions, I sauteed crimini mushrooms, garlic and a bunch of baby spinach and threw that in the mix. I used less garbanzo beans (bc i was short) and a little more pumpkin. It was great this way as well (i preferred more due to my tastes). so have fun with the recipe and be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyFoodLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These veggie patties are awesome! I was tired of waiting for my beans to get soft while cooking on the stove, so I opened up a can of black beans. I too used an egg & 2/3 cup unseasoned bread crumbs, as others had suggested. I didn't like how mushy it still seemed, so I added an additional 1/3 cup oatmeal. Also, instead of nutmeg and cinnamon, I used Garam Masala and a bit of cumin. I made 8 smaller sized patties, rather than 4 and had no problem developing a crunchy outer coating. They were fabulous and my three-year old ate a whole one, which says a LOT. The ginger mayo was also a nice touch for this delightful sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I have been on a real pumpkin kick lately but this recipe was very disappointing. I feel like the texture left much to be desired and might be helped by adding some brown rice and it could have used more spices. Overall it was very bland except for an overwhelming amount of ginger from the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lehmkuhl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is a tasty and healthy recipe. I loved it and will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I cut down the onion to half or less and if you drain the pumpkin in a papertowel lined strainer for 20 minutes before to take out allot of moisture they work better. My husband who is strickly meat & potatoes loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Wonderful burgers! My husband thought there was too much onion, but my son ate 3 of these burgers! I used pinto beans instead of great northern beans. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These were great - I'm sure to make them over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
The hint of pumpkin flavor makes these burgers interesting to the tastebuds and DELECIOUS overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States