BUSH'S® Pumpkin Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
These looked really good to me, but my husband thought they sounded strange. By sighting the 5 star rating, I was able to convince him to try them. On flavor, I would give them a 5 stars, however, when I made them, they were very wet and soft, and did not hold their shape very well, even after chilling for 2 hours (quadruple the recommended chill time). I am trying them again, but I've added an egg, and 2/3 cups of bread crumbs. Already they seem much firmer. They are chilling now. I will try to remember to let all know how they turn out this way. EDIT - adding an egg and 2/3 cup of bread crumbs did the trick. Now these hold their shape quite well, and I have increased my previous 4 start rating to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Yummy, easy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These were great - I'm sure to make them over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These were good and very easy to make. The recipe is good as is or is very easy to change up as well. I made it the first time following the directions but adding a little bit of liquid egg whites. The second time since I didn't have onions, I sauteed crimini mushrooms, garlic and a bunch of baby spinach and threw that in the mix. I used less garbanzo beans (bc i was short) and a little more pumpkin. It was great this way as well (i preferred more due to my tastes). so have fun with the recipe and be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyFoodLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Wonderful burgers! My husband thought there was too much onion, but my son ate 3 of these burgers! I used pinto beans instead of great northern beans. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
These were really pretty good but maybe missing something (not sure what though). I baked mine but I think I might fry them next time as the outside didn't really form a hard crunchy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I cut down the onion to half or less and if you drain the pumpkin in a papertowel lined strainer for 20 minutes before to take out allot of moisture they work better. My husband who is strickly meat & potatoes loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is a tasty and healthy recipe. I loved it and will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These were good but were better the second day. I left out the sage and did not use the mayo(I do not like mayo). I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
These taste great I just had a hard time keeping them together. I also used different spices, such as cumin and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States