BUSH'S® Pumpkin Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
These looked really good to me, but my husband thought they sounded strange. By sighting the 5 star rating, I was able to convince him to try them. On flavor, I would give them a 5 stars, however, when I made them, they were very wet and soft, and did not hold their shape very well, even after chilling for 2 hours (quadruple the recommended chill time). I am trying them again, but I've added an egg, and 2/3 cups of bread crumbs. Already they seem much firmer. They are chilling now. I will try to remember to let all know how they turn out this way. EDIT - adding an egg and 2/3 cup of bread crumbs did the trick. Now these hold their shape quite well, and I have increased my previous 4 start rating to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Yummy, easy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These were great - I'm sure to make them over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These were good and very easy to make. The recipe is good as is or is very easy to change up as well. I made it the first time following the directions but adding a little bit of liquid egg whites. The second time since I didn't have onions, I sauteed crimini mushrooms, garlic and a bunch of baby spinach and threw that in the mix. I used less garbanzo beans (bc i was short) and a little more pumpkin. It was great this way as well (i preferred more due to my tastes). so have fun with the recipe and be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyFoodLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Wonderful burgers! My husband thought there was too much onion, but my son ate 3 of these burgers! I used pinto beans instead of great northern beans. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
These were really pretty good but maybe missing something (not sure what though). I baked mine but I think I might fry them next time as the outside didn't really form a hard crunchy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I cut down the onion to half or less and if you drain the pumpkin in a papertowel lined strainer for 20 minutes before to take out allot of moisture they work better. My husband who is strickly meat & potatoes loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is a tasty and healthy recipe. I loved it and will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These were good but were better the second day. I left out the sage and did not use the mayo(I do not like mayo). I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
These taste great I just had a hard time keeping them together. I also used different spices, such as cumin and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States