Burrito Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Delicious! My whole family really like this including my kids which is rare. I had to use taco seasoning and water because I didn't have any taco sauce but it still turned out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was great and will be part of our menu rotation. I especially like to use recipes that can be frozen for later or shared with friends and family who need an occasional meal. I followed happywife05 review and used more tortillas in the layers and also LISAKP71 review to use taco seasoning in the meat (definitely needed!) and spread the beans on the tortillas instead of blending with meat mixture. Took this to a potluck last night and got rave reviews and recipe requests. Good job KATHICM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made this last night. Overall very delicious. I followed other advice and put two tortillas on the bottom to make a sturdy base, but used one for the other layers. Mine did not get soggy at all. Will make this again. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
11/14: used round springform pan and trimmed large flour tortillas to fit. i doubled the tortillas as someone else suggested. used 3 layers, 6 total. didn't have refried beans so used black beans. saute turkey, add taco seas mix, and can of rotel tomatoes and beans. layer with shredded cheddar cheese. good with lettuce and a little sour cream. yum. larry loved it, matthew just ok, i liked it alot. also only used 1 lb of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Outstanding Mexican dish--my husband and I thought this was one of the best we ever made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Polly G
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I read through the reviews as well and made the following changes. I added taco seasoning to the ground beef mixture and did not add the refried beans. I spread the beans on the tortillas and it worked well! Great flavor - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
My husband love's this kind of meal. I forgot the olives, but will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was a little bland until I added a packet of taco seasoning. I also used seasoned black beans instead of the refried beans. Used only two (double) layers of tortillas. It was very good, but not at all spicy. Would be good with some jalapenos on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This has a very good taste to it. I did not change anything about the original recipe. I DO NOT understand where people think this is a "spicy" or "hot dish", everything is from a can. There is nothing hot about this dish at all. The flavors meld together nicely. I did not find it to be soggy or gloppy. Next time I make this I will make home made tortillas, and put fresh green chili in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I tried the recipe tonight for our family dinner and what a huge hit. Everyone loved it and we finished it off. I did not change a thing, I made just as the recipe was suggested. I did not find adding the refried beans to the mixture made it gloppy, I did summer the suggest amount of time though. I thought missing all ingredients together and cooking the suggested time made for a great flavor. I will make this again and again. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States