Burrito Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I made a double batch of this recipe for a homeless shelter dinner. Since several guests are children, I omitted the extra green chiles. I also kept a small pan for my family. Everyone enjoyed this dinner, but I made it with corn tortillas which I pan fried first. Very easy to make in a large batch and transport. Thanks for a good recipe, will likely make again for shelter guests and our own family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Great combination of tacos and lasagna. Took another reviewers advice and used 2 tortillas per layer to avoid pieces falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terra
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I am glad I took other reviews advice and doubled up on the tortilla layer. It gave it a better texture and didn't get as soggy. Also to simmering longer for added flavor. I added more cheese then the recipe calls for and added green onions and Jalapeño peppers for more heat. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Good flexible recipe. I halved the recipe. Left out olives (2 don't like them). Had some cooked ground beef, but not that much, added onion, pepper, fresh tomato and corn for bulk along with some taco seasoning. Didn't have a lot of shredded cheese so did part American cheese. Once I had it assembled looked dry (no canned tomatoes or taco sauce). Put a small can of tomato sauce, a big spoon of red salsa and two big spoons of green salsa (from the fridge) and a tsp of chili powder in the blender to make my own sauce. Poured that over the top and then added the final layer of cheese. A little salty (American cheese?) but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Kroupa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Great substitute for Taco's or Burritos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron Rayward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanita Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
the trick to this recipe is letting all of the ingredients simmer for as long as possible. It was also not spicy enough for my taste, so next time i will be adding some jalapeño or serento peppers as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Omg this pie is soooooo good! I halved the recipe and used leftover chicken from the Easy Cheesy Chicken recipe on allrecipes instead of ground beef. I heated up the chicken in the skillet, then added an onion and one clove garlic, and then mixed in 3/4 can black olives, 1/2 can green chiles, whole can rotel, and 3oz taco sauce. I used a 2.5 qt casserole dish and layered my casserole as follows: chicken mixture, shredded Mexican cheese, tortillas (with refrained beans spread on) bean side down. I repeated that twice. On top I had a layer of chicken mixture, refried beans, 1/4 can black olives, and cheese. Baked it for about 27 minutes and it was amazing. Will definitely be making this again but next time will try ground beef. Next time I will also have to make 2 separate pies bc my picky husband doesn't like any of the veggie ingredients. I'm sure I used more cheese than called since I just sprinkled it over each layer. Great recipe!! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abower1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Love this!!! One of my family's favorite! Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States