Burrito Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I cut the meat and refried beans in half added a can of black beans and 2to 3 cups of boiled white rice to the burrito mix. I love beef and bean and rice burritos so this was a preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jane Crider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Shore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennabeth
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is a solid recipe. There are just two of us, so I split it into two separate pie tins and popped one in the freezer for an easy meal later on. The tortillas I bought fit just about right in the pie pans. Followed other cooks' advice and smeared the beans on a double layer of tortillas. Worked out great! Can't attest to the frozen pie yet, but the fresh one was on point. I pretty much used what I had on hand - just 1# beef, half an onion, some taco seasoning, picante instead of taco sauce, cheddar and jack instead of Colby, whole wheat tortillas - the recipe is pretty forgiving that way. I think corn or additional beans would also be nice in the sauce layers, or some condensed cheddar cheese soup. I served it in wedge shaped slices with a dollop of sour cream, picante sauce, a couple of olives, and some sliced avocado. My honey gave it a "D" and then clarified that the D stood for "Delicious ". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Didn't turn out well for me. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Made this recipe as is and it was gone in one night. I like somebody's idea of putting the beans as their own layer and I think I will try it next time. But even with it mixed all together, it was awesome. I served this with a dallop of guacamole and sour cream. It was cheap, quick and easy to make and my family ate every last bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Delicious! My whole family really like this including my kids which is rare. I had to use taco seasoning and water because I didn't have any taco sauce but it still turned out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was great and will be part of our menu rotation. I especially like to use recipes that can be frozen for later or shared with friends and family who need an occasional meal. I followed happywife05 review and used more tortillas in the layers and also LISAKP71 review to use taco seasoning in the meat (definitely needed!) and spread the beans on the tortillas instead of blending with meat mixture. Took this to a potluck last night and got rave reviews and recipe requests. Good job KATHICM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made this last night. Overall very delicious. I followed other advice and put two tortillas on the bottom to make a sturdy base, but used one for the other layers. Mine did not get soggy at all. Will make this again. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
11/14: used round springform pan and trimmed large flour tortillas to fit. i doubled the tortillas as someone else suggested. used 3 layers, 6 total. didn't have refried beans so used black beans. saute turkey, add taco seas mix, and can of rotel tomatoes and beans. layer with shredded cheddar cheese. good with lettuce and a little sour cream. yum. larry loved it, matthew just ok, i liked it alot. also only used 1 lb of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Outstanding Mexican dish--my husband and I thought this was one of the best we ever made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Roby Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Polly G
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I read through the reviews as well and made the following changes. I added taco seasoning to the ground beef mixture and did not add the refried beans. I spread the beans on the tortillas and it worked well! Great flavor - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States