Burrebrede (Scottish shortbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I was skeptical but it turned out ok, though the spice mixture is a bit odd, and the proportion of butter to flour seems off as well. With some tinkering it could be very nice. Mostly, though, I doubt the "medieval" part of this. Allspice is an New World spice, which medieval Scottish cooks would not have known about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Fantastic! Just like my Scottish grandmother use to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is delicious. I made it as described but opted for a 9 inch square pan. The result, at full baking was both a little undercooked in the center, and over crisped on the outside. Next time I'll go with a 10 inch pan and instead of sprinkling half the sugar over top, I'll reduce that to 1/4 on top, 3/4 inside. A nice shortbread with a wee tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was good for discovering we are not fans of shortbread. I had to boost the butter somewhat just to have something other than dry, dry, dry flour in the pan. It actually cooked up better than I thought possible, but the end result (for us) was less than we had hoped. I won't be making this (or any) shortbread again, so this may not be the most fair rating. Obviously there has been some success, and I will post a picture regardless. Techimpaired, it was fun taking a stab at a medieval recipe, even at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
We loved this recipe. It's so easy to make and tastes wonderful with coffee or a dark tea. I also added 1/4 tsp of ground clove. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
How did anybody get this to work with no liquid? It is like dry sand and was a crumbly mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
We really liked these. They melt in your mouth! I didn't have any superfine sugar, but I whirled some regular sugar in my food processor, which did the trick. The flavor is very subtle, but letting the cookie dissolve in your mouth lets you get the full effect. Thank you for the recipe, Tech! I will add it to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I will never use this recipe again. The cookies were almost tasteless and were very very crumbly...almost powdery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I've made this recipe two times now. The first I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I added all but 2 tbs of the sugar/spice mixture into the flour before mixing in the butter. I then sprinkled the 2 tbs on top after scoring the shortbread. I also baked in my brownie pan (9X10) instead of the 8X8 as suggested. Great recipe, great spice mixture. Don't omit the cardamon, even if you have to go out and buy some just for this recipe. It is a very fragrant spice and really adds to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Ugh! What a disappointment! I LOVE shortbread and LOVE the spices the recipe calls for, but this did not work! The shortbread itself was heavy and floury rather than light and melt-in-the-mouth. And I found the spices distracting rather than complimentary. Sorry, just not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States