Burnt Sugar Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
My recipe for Burnt sugar Icing is very similar as this one. For those who want to try this in the future, and read the latter reviews, the seizing up of the caramel is normal. You have to bring it back to a boil and redissolve the caranel, then continue with the recipe. Also add a tablespoon of light corn syrup with the milk and sugar to help with early crystalization, which leads to graininess. I like this recipe better than what most people consider caramel icing, which is really penuche. (nothing against penuche, that is yummy also) This technique has a true caramel flavor. Hope this helps everyone. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
This was a disaster. I followed the directions EXACTLY and when I added the 1/4 cup boiling water, the sugar immediately clumped together, became rock hard and stuck to the pan. Don't know the trick to this but I wouldn't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
This is a old family favorite...The recipe was lost for years after a great aunt death..I'm thrilled to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
part of the secret to this recipe is to use a cast iron skillet! It regulates heat better than regular pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I didn't realize how much work frosting is before engaging in this recipe. It took me more than 15 minutes to make, and I ended up with a rather thick mixture. Don't know what I did wrong, but probably didn't know when to stop boiling. We all really enjoyed the result, though, and I am calling it one of my favorites. Four stars because it took more than 15 minutes to make--cutting into my nap time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
My mother used this icing for her irish potato cake and I lost it. I'm so glad to have found it again. This community is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This is a time consuming recipe, but the instructions were simple to understand. The icing was FABULOUS! It did set up when I added the boiling water, but after about 15 minutes it was liquid again. After cooling I popped it back in the mixer for a few minutes and it looked just like my grandmother's caramel icing. Tastes like it too. The only bad thing is that my toddler picked that moment to get hurt so I walked away from the icing. Upon my return it was already set up in the bowl. After a minute in the microwave it was able to spread it on the cake and it set right back up. Excellent recipe! I doubled it with no problems whatsoever and the only change I made was a little extra salt because it tasted really sweet... possibly from doubling the recipe though. Thumbs up! I'll try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
It sounded interesting, but this was awful - like a previous reviewer, my sugar seized up as soon as I added the boiling water. I thought adding the other ingredients (ie more liquid) would alleviate the problem, but the whole thing become one huge hard rock! I now have brittle instead of icing. I think the trick is not to over-caramelize the sugar - add the water BEFORE the sugar melts and recrystalizes. Once the crystals form, you're in trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
it was probably my fault but this turned out rock hard, i think the problem was that i thought the soft ball stage meant it turned into a soft ball but really it must just mean you have to use a candy thermometer to see when it reaches the soft ball temperature. however i just added some milk and microwaved it to remelt and it tasted great, however doing it this way it made a sauce which i did put on my cupcakes and it tasted amazing especially while still warm...will try again but using the candy thermometer and hope for better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Yummy stuff! I had never heard of this when my dad requested it for his bday...having never made any type of cooked candy before, I had some problems, but found some solutions online: the first attempt, I melted the sugar over low in a cast iron skillet per another suggestion and it still crystalized (and turned a yucky grey). I made it in a large, heavy saucepan. Instead of stirring the sugar alone, I added the water, stirring til dissolved, then left it alone over low heat. This way, the sugar caramelized on its own, and I just tilted the pan periodically. Once it was a nice amber color, I slowly stirred in the remaining ingredients (I, too, added a tablespoon of corn syrup). I thought all was lost--the "burnt" sugar was all stuck at the bottom of the pan. But I stuck it out, stirring constantly with a whisk, and it eventually melted again and incorporated into a nice confection. I followed the rest of the instructions as printed. The consistency is nice--it pretty much spread itself. It also holds up nicely, even in our humid environment. My kids wanted to eat it with a spoon! We decided it would be yummy with cut apples, bananas, etc., too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtlesmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States