Burnt Sugar Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Overall, a good, easy and unusual recipe. However i would make some changes 1)caramelize most of the sugar (all but a 1/4 cup) for more flavor. 2) post a proper photo. 3) add the water to the sugar you plan on caramelizing, and do it on medium high heat (how are you supposed to caramelize without a liquid?!) 4) TASTE THE SUGAR BEFORE YOU ADD IT if you burn it, it taste like charcoal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was a very good cake. It was light, soft and fluffy. I made it with coffee as suggested by another reviewer. It did give the cake a fantastic flavor. The coffee made the cake a little too dark though. Next time I will try it as written. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This came together very easily and was so buttery delicious that I'll never make a plain yellow cake again! Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laurielid
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
As a child, we used to get burnt sugar cakes for our birthday and i remember them being excellent. This recipe did not disappoint my image of that brown delicious burnt sugar cake. I added a buttercream icing with a teaspoon of maple extract to top this feast. I took this to a bbq and everyone loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurielid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Abi
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This cake was delicious. I made 24 cupcakes and it only took 15 minutes to bake them to perfection! It had an interesting caramel flavor and color to it. I absolutely loved it. It's perfect for the autumn season if you want a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This cake was pretty good. It was moist, but I could not tell the difference between this cake and any other cake I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The burnt sugar became hard, so I left it out & the cake was still very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I made this with hot, strong coffee, the way my great grandma did, instead of the hot water mixed with burnt sugar. I don't know if it made it better or not, since I haven't tried it with the water, but it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Photo by mirijok
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
A great recipe! I didn't frost the cake - it was moist and fluffy. As I took it to my work, my co-workers asked what tasty spice it would contain - they couldn't believe it was just burnt sugar. The taste reminded of German Spekulatius. To prevent the crust from tasting bitter, you should be careful not to let it get too dark. And one of my co-workers suggested to make the caramel syrup by cooking the sugar with the water from the beginning on, as I told her it bubbled up very high when I added the water to the boiling sugar. I would definitely make the cake again and try the suggested caramel procedure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I made this for my husband's borthday and the whole thing was gone within 24 hours. Simply fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States