Burnt Butter Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Its so easy and tasty. I added some garlic to my rice when i cooked the butter and it gave a really nice flavor. make sure you use the long grain as written, otherwise using japanese type rice will turn out a bit watery. it didnt bother me that is was a bit watery, so I would say that I enjoyed it. thanks leslie for submitting this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe! It was a nice side with my meal, subtle, yet rich. A lot of unexpected flavour from few ingredients. Very simple preparation. Thanks for this recipe! I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I have made this several times using basmati rice and have always gotten compliments. I threw it all into my rice cooker along with some fried garlic, fried onions and a dash of soy sauce. I usually serve this with "Marinated Pork Tenderloin", another favorite of mine found on this site. I'll continue to make this from time to time. Thanks Leslie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I'm not really sure what I expected, but this tasted like rice covered in burnt butter. Not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Didnt have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
The first time I made this, according to directions, it was WAY too salty. So I tried it again with out the chicken stock, but that was bland. I finally tried it with low sodium stock and it was good, not great, but good! I like the flavour, but am only giving it 3 stars because I had to try 3 times finally get to taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I really liked the flavor that the burnt butter gave the rice. It's very subtle and goes well with anything. However I followed the directions exactly and the rice was still crunchy after standing for 15 minutes. I had to take the lid off and add a bit more water and cook longer. Next time I would simmer for 20 minutes at the beginning instead of 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This rice was absolutely delicious - I can't wait to make it again! I cut the recipe in half and it turned out perfectly. I cooked the butter in a stainless steel skillet only until medium brown - there was still some foam on top. The browned butter gave a wonderfully rich and nutty flavour to the rice, just excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I liked this very much. Buttered rice has always been comfort food to me but this takes it up a notch. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
My family loves this recipe! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States