Burnt Butter Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Its so easy and tasty. I added some garlic to my rice when i cooked the butter and it gave a really nice flavor. make sure you use the long grain as written, otherwise using japanese type rice will turn out a bit watery. it didnt bother me that is was a bit watery, so I would say that I enjoyed it. thanks leslie for submitting this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe! It was a nice side with my meal, subtle, yet rich. A lot of unexpected flavour from few ingredients. Very simple preparation. Thanks for this recipe! I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I have made this several times using basmati rice and have always gotten compliments. I threw it all into my rice cooker along with some fried garlic, fried onions and a dash of soy sauce. I usually serve this with "Marinated Pork Tenderloin", another favorite of mine found on this site. I'll continue to make this from time to time. Thanks Leslie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I'm not really sure what I expected, but this tasted like rice covered in burnt butter. Not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Didnt have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
The first time I made this, according to directions, it was WAY too salty. So I tried it again with out the chicken stock, but that was bland. I finally tried it with low sodium stock and it was good, not great, but good! I like the flavour, but am only giving it 3 stars because I had to try 3 times finally get to taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I really liked the flavor that the burnt butter gave the rice. It's very subtle and goes well with anything. However I followed the directions exactly and the rice was still crunchy after standing for 15 minutes. I had to take the lid off and add a bit more water and cook longer. Next time I would simmer for 20 minutes at the beginning instead of 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This rice was absolutely delicious - I can't wait to make it again! I cut the recipe in half and it turned out perfectly. I cooked the butter in a stainless steel skillet only until medium brown - there was still some foam on top. The browned butter gave a wonderfully rich and nutty flavour to the rice, just excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I liked this very much. Buttered rice has always been comfort food to me but this takes it up a notch. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
My family loves this recipe! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States