Burnt Butter Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This definitely had a distinct favour to it and tasted quite good. Thanks for the recipe. Being a vegitarian, I just added a wee bit of curry powder instead of chicken boulion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Understated, yet fabulous. This last time I made it, I tossed on a layer of finely chopped fresh spinach right after pouring the butter on. It steamed perfectly and added some beatiful color, flavor and nutrition (gotta get it into the toddler somehow!). I also love this recipe because unlike plain rice, the leftovers don't dry out and you can enjoy it several days later. Thank you for this go-to side dish that I can pull out on a moments notice and impress company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I served this to my children (ages 9-14) and they loved it. Then I served it to all of the inlaws and they loved it too. This includes my sister-in-law, who hates everything. Both times I made chicken souvlaki and a side greek salad.I highly recommend this - great for company. The mild flavour that goes great with spicier offerings. I used bouillon cubes both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I enjoyed but unfortunately I was the only one in my family who liked this recipe. It was a rough start making. To get the butter to burn properly, I had to turn the heat up high on the stove. I ended up smoking up my house which then led the smoke detectors to go off. Had to hurry and open up all the windows and turn the air off to let in the heat and fresh air. (Of course it was in the 90s outside) I would make again for myself by scaling the recipe down and next time I will make on the side burner on the grill. A real comfort food. Made with Marinated Pork Tenderloin from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
My family loves this recipe! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I liked this very much. Buttered rice has always been comfort food to me but this takes it up a notch. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This rice was absolutely delicious - I can't wait to make it again! I cut the recipe in half and it turned out perfectly. I cooked the butter in a stainless steel skillet only until medium brown - there was still some foam on top. The browned butter gave a wonderfully rich and nutty flavour to the rice, just excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I really liked the flavor that the burnt butter gave the rice. It's very subtle and goes well with anything. However I followed the directions exactly and the rice was still crunchy after standing for 15 minutes. I had to take the lid off and add a bit more water and cook longer. Next time I would simmer for 20 minutes at the beginning instead of 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
The first time I made this, according to directions, it was WAY too salty. So I tried it again with out the chicken stock, but that was bland. I finally tried it with low sodium stock and it was good, not great, but good! I like the flavour, but am only giving it 3 stars because I had to try 3 times finally get to taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States