Burnt Butter Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
My husband thought that this was a nice variation of traditional white rice. I actually used instant rice, because that's all i had and it turned out just fine. I tried substituting margarine, but i guess it doesn't burn like butter does. It was still good--i love a little rice with my butter. I would imagine this tastes like burned butter, so if that sounds gross, i wouldn't make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I followed the receipe exactly, and this rice was bland. Definitely not worth all the fat that comes from the butter. I ended up putting some buillon on it for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
So good! Such a unique flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keanu
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My boys and I loved it. Went well with greek food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
made just as stated, excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BratCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This turned out to be mushy. I considered not even serving it but since I went to the effort to make it I figured we could take a bite. Literally one bite is all we took. Since it's relatively simple to make with few ingredients I figured it must not be something I did. Rather it must be and acquired taste and texture for that matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Although I'm glad I tried this, I won't make it again. The taste was interesting but not all that good. It is at least something different to make when your ingredients are scarce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayglo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Yum! This is a great way to make rice. I used brown rice and had to cook it longer, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The burnt butter really adds a lot of flavor. It is a little greasy but in a good way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I actually had to do this twice because I burnt the first batch. I'm not the best rice cooking-type person, my husband can attest to that. Second time, I had it. This went really well with Fierro Chicken, as it didn't compete flavor-wise with an already strong main dish. NOTE: Next time, I might add a little garlic and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
it was good, but just tasted like buttered rice. next time i will just make rice with butter on it, much quicker and tastes the same. i liked it with the yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States