Burnt Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was easy to make (just keep a constant eye on the butter) but it didn't taste very good. My kids LOVED it however. It sets up quickly, so frost and sprinkle asap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aquarian_Mommax2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
More appropriately named Browned Butter Frosting... (I wouldn't want burnt anything)! Deliciously unique flavor that complemented both the carrot cake and marbled cupcakes that I made. It was ridiculously sweet so I may make some modifications the next time I use this recipe, but it really had a nice rich flavor from the carmelization. Will keep on file for future recipes! Very versitle: I'm sure it would go nicely with many different flavors (banana, caramel, chocolate...) and treats (cookies, cakes, brownies...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Loved this - comes together quickly -- taste like penuche frosting. You have to work fast when frosting because it becomes rough when it cools. I found it stayed smoother if you used a piping bag than just applying to the cupcake or cake. Will definately be in my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
O..M...G!! This is the BEST frosting I have ever tasted! I followed the recipe exactly and I couldn't help but taking bites of it every few minutes! I used it to frost my turkey day carrot cake.. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I had burnt butter frosting a couple weeks ago and loved it and then found this recipe. I made it today for a burnt sugar cake(II from this site). Well I need to pay better attention to the serving because I made it for 2 9" round cakes and it is not enough to ice all around. I have filling and then just on the top layer. The same thing happened to the person whose cake I had tried before. When he did it though it was enough for the flavor maybe make it a little thinner to drizzle a little. I also did not start the butter at med high. I started on low while I was getting everything else started and then turned it up and it browned quickly, the OP said he had a hard time getting to brown. He did not use this recipe but had told me it was similar when I showed it to him>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenthecakelady
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I give this frosting 6 stars! WOW! This is seriously the best frosting I have ever tasted. It is very very rich so a little goes a long way. I used it to top some peanut butter cupcakes. Fab combination. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenthecakelady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I don't know if I messed up or not, but I didn't like the flavor. It reminded me of the melted butter I used for lobster. I wondered if maybe the spoon I used was melting into the butter, but it didn't smell like plastic. I had my husband taste the frosting, and he said it was fine, but I don't like it. I am sure I cooked it long enough, it did turn brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I made banana cupcakes from an old family recipe and it didn't have the frosting recipe on it! I found this one and it was just what I was looking for! A half recipe was plenty to frost about 30 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Yum yum yum~!! I got a little carried away the first time I attempted to make this and didn't add the sugar slowly... oops! But the second time it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I could eat this frosting all by itself. You have to use it quickly because it sets very fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States