Burmese Chicken Curry (Gaeng Gai Bama) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I've made this twice before rating because I thought I might have misunderstood an instruction. The first time I made it, I covered the pieces of chicken with water as instructed.. the end result was a very watery sauce; my chicken pieces were 1/4 of a chicken breast half, so I did not think it was the sizing that was the issue, it says large pieces. The second time, I poured water 2/3 up and did not cover it. Instead I lowered to a simmer, turned the chicken twice during cooking, and before it was done I added the tomato sauce and fish sauce (using 3 tb as someone suggested)-. Personally, I had not liked the tomato slices the first time so the second time around I steamed some broccoli florets on the side. Served the rice with broccoli on one side, chicken on the other, sauce over everything. The sauce makes this dish. It is wonderful, with the extra fish sauce. But because it was too watery the first time around, it does not get 5 stars. For those wondering about the spiciness level.. it's an American 2 pepper spicy as you would order at an Asian restaurant. Nowhere near Asian spicy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Delicious! I didn't find it too spicy at all; I used Thai Kitchen-brand curry paste, which has been in the fridge for... a while and could possibly have lost its kick. I also shouldn't have used so much water (I cut the chicken in small pieces like a previous reviewer) but it's still fantastic. I can see this working very well with shrimp, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Oh boy, way too much fish sauce. 2 tsp would have tasted good. However with 2 Tbls the dish had a distinct aftertaste of something awry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
One tip: once you're done frying the shallots/onions, you'll need to transfer it to a bowl - might as well save some time and fry them while the curry is simmering. This way you'll still have the same amount of dishes afterwards. The only things I did differently was to substitute coconut milk for the water (about half a can for simmering the chicken and half for afterwards) and used carmelized onions instead of shallots. The curry that you use will make a huge difference in the taste - I used Thai red curry paste and Indian mild curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
As the description states this isn't REAL AUTHENTIC Burmese chicken curry. The real one which uses no curry paste or coconut milk, just lots of tomatoes, onions and fermented fish paste "Ngapi" and fish sauce plus other various spices to make the curry sauce. However, this recipe is not too bad. It was a little bland for my mother (who typically cooks THE BEST Burmese food!), but I thought it was pretty good. *NOTE* If you do not have fish sauce DO NOT USE SOYSAUCE! I cannot even imagine using soysauce in a Burmese dish... Use salt! It won't be as flavorful as fish sauce but salt will do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrightBlueInk
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was FANTASTIC! I couldn't find red curry paste at my local store, so I had to substitute green curry paste, and I skipped the shallots to save on time but it still came out really delicious. I think red curry paste would've been a little bit better since there wasn't much spice when I made it, but even with green curry paste it had a ton of flavor. I also substituted brown sugar for the palm sugar, since that was what I had. So it's probably not quite "right" but it still came out as one of the best things I've made from this site. A total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I used canned tomatoes and omitted the coconut milk because I didn't think the milk I had was good still. Turned out well anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Insanely delicious. We served over steamed brown jasmine rice for a hearty meal. Don't skip the cilantro, it really brightens the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Doubled the recipe for 2lbs of pork. Used one can of diced tomatoes and a whole can of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This dish was delish! I had a mild red curry paste, and I would have loved more of a kick- I will definitely amp it up next time! I substituted thinly sliced onions sauteed in chili oil, and they were superb on top of the dish! I experienced how easy it can be to overcook the chicken- rookie error. When the dish settles, the flavors pop even more. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States