Burmese Chicken Curry (Gaeng Gai Bama) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Fantastic flavour and is even better the next day. Hot and spicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This dish was very good. Easy to prepare. Browned chicken in skillet and finished in the crock pot. We could not find palm sugar anywhere and we live in a very diverse area. Used medium curry paste, would have preferred hot. The dish was missing something, maybe an additional spice. We couldn't figure it out, but we still believe this recipe is a 5 star and will make again. BTW - the curry paste stained our utensils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LetyPat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I was not wowed by this...it wasn't thrilling. It was a lot of work for not much...zing. Sorry, I guess I don't have the vocabulary to describe that better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big_al_728

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
We used to get Indian food every Sunday, but after finding this recipe ....not anymore! We have our own Indian food. I add zuccini and carrots to make it healtier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sevenum, Limburg, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Yowza, this is HOT! I tried a vegetarian version of this using Quorn Chicken Tenders. My family isn't crazy about super-spicy foods, so I cut the curry paste and curry powder in half. It was still too hot - so I know to put in even less next time I make it. For the fish sauce I used one tablespoon of vegetarian worchestesire and a tablespoon of soy sauce. I served it with rice pilaf (which helped calm down the burning a bit). D-lish...I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I am a little cajun girl and I thought this was spicy, but I LOVED it. The rest of my family said it should be a keeper. Next time I will reduce the red curry to 1 tablespoon and use a smaller pan so I won't have to use so much water.Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I've made this recipe twice. The first time I didn't have the curry paste so after looking at the ingredients in curry paste on-line, I subbed it for various powders/spices that I had on hand (chili, onion, garlic, paprika, cumin, tumeric, coriander & lime rind). The dish was delicious but not spicy. This time, I used the curry paste and followed the recipe except adding the cilantro (a must! it SO goes with these flavors) and the shallots to the mixture right before serving. Excellent dish both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
My husband is the curry maker in our household but I decided to make this recipe. I used extra coconut milk, and had to omit the fresh tomatoes since were out. I hate cilantro and left this out too. Likely the biggest change I made was using a slow cooker (quickly browned chicken in skillet first). WE had it over jasmine rice. Turned out very well and my husband was really impressed. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This recipe was a hit with me and my hubby! I added a bit more red curry and tomato puree. This is definitely going into my recipe box and will be cooked every month. Thanks for the great recipe flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
this was the 5th curry dish i've tried off allrecipes. hands down, this was the best! dee-lish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States