Burmese Chicken Curry (Gaeng Gai Bama) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Yum! My mom is from Burma and while this was really good, it's not Burmese, as Michelle says. I added too much water as I was afraid that it would be too hot-- big mistake. Barely cover the chicken with water. Also, my red curry paste wasn't very hot at all, so I added almost twice the amount. I used soy instead of fish sauce (I know it's not really an acceptable substitute, but I didn't have any!) and skipped the cilantro because the boyfriend doesn't care for it. Served this over coconut rice.. delicious! A note about the shallot garnish: I use a regular yellow onion and just slice it really thin. My mother uses much more oil so that she can store the fried onions on the countertop (in oil) and use it as garnish whenever she pleases. Although, I changed quite a bit, I have no doubt the recipe would be good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I don't know Bermese cuisine from Thai from Indian, but I know that this recipe was simple and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My picky 8-year-old took seconds saying "I love this chicken." My husband who rarely comments on my cooking said, "This one is a keeper." My teenager wasn't quite as enthusiastic but said it was "good." He has a cold, though, so that may have affected his experience. I could not get the sauce to become "creamy" as described, but it still tasted good. I accidentally used chili powder instead of curry powder. I noticed it right after I covered the chicken with water, so I dumped the chicken into a colander, rinsed it, and started over. Not sure if the brief soaking in chili powder affected the taste or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Excellent dish and easy to prepare! I made some substitutions (used onions, brown sugar, salt and only one tomato) and may have added a bit too much water, but it turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I don't like to review a recipe when I have changed it, but this one had great "bones" and we enjoyed it very much. Did not use the shallots, fresh tomatoes, or cilantro, but DID use the curry paste, curry powder, and coconut milk as directed; I also used a small can of diced tomatoes instead. Thickened it up with a little flour in the cocount milk and stirred it in. Served it with sticky rice, and cole slaw. Will make again! Dee-lish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
The fresh tomatoes and cilanto made this dish. I served over rice with fresh cucumber on the side. THe cumumber was a great way to cool down after all the heat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
LOVE this recipe!! Doubling recipe may be OK but didn't taste the same when I did x4....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Enjoyed this very much, used combo of chicken and shrimp. Tossed some extra veggies in as well (mushrooms and spinach). I was quite thin, so I did add cornstarch. The flavor is right here though, tastes like something you get at a thai restaurant. Just the right amount of heat, but we like spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Quite good and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States