Burgundy Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is a glorified spaghetti and steak recipe. Not inedible, but not a stroganoff. It also only took me about 30 minutes to make; not an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Kenreck

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Main modification was using a Pinot Noir and I used a little more beef broth and water to thin the sauce while simmering. I added about a teaspoon of sugar to balance the acidity of the tomato paste which seemed to mellow the bite from the paste. I will def make this again and simmer for the full time. Meat was a little tough because didn't simmer long enough but certainly was tasty and didn't affect my opinion of the recipe. Next time I will added mushrooms and prob use a fuller bodied red wine maybe a Cabarnet. I hope you enjoy it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Wow! This worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabrielle
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Tastes much better than it looks!! It was pretty good. I added mushrooms as well thankfully gave it a little extra flavor, it was kind of on the bland side in my opinion which I tackled with some salt. Felt like it was missing something though... Anyway I'd make it again! Definitely go with the better cut of meat too, it wasn't tough at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe Is my go-to stroganoff recipe. It's so delicious that I make it when friends and family come over and they end up begging me to make it again next time. So good, so tasty (and how)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very good! We didn't have the four hours a lot of the other recipes called for. We found this ti be quite tasty, and will be preparing it on camping trips some time. (Ok, yes, we eat really well on camping trips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Wolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Just an absolutely great recipe. Thanks! I followed the recipe for the most part - but I used Stip Loin as that's what I had on hand. So tender and so tasty! Next time I'll be adding small button mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Don't use cheap meat - period! You can't use stew meat. Use good round or even sirloin cut THIN. Try it without the thyme and burgundy, adding lots of portabella mushrooms for a different taste treat. I add more beef stock than the recipe calls for and instead of flour I prefer thickening at the end of cooking with a little corn starch mixed in water, before stirring in the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorelei5082

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I used a mixture of butter and EVOO to brown the meat in and I used beef stew meat instead of round steak only because it was cheaper. Because I used stew meat, I simmered this longer than the recipe asked for......over an hour. I didn't really time it, I just simmered it until the liquid in the pan reduced by half. I also added 8 ounces of sliced fresh mushrooms to stretch the meal a little. This would have been really good BUT I think there was too much wine and I think it needs more spices. The meat was perfectly tender, the sauce was thickened and looked beautiful and it turned out like it should.........I'd like to try this again but cut the wine in half and maybe add more spices. Maybe basil and oregano? Maybe a bay leaf too?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

An easy but elegant pork roast cooked in a rich red wine sauce.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States