Burgundy Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Was my first time making a roast. I did as one of the other reviewers suggested and cooked it in the crock pot on high for four hours. I also added carrots and red potatoes to the pot. Super easy and the end result was super delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Made it as is with no variation to the ingredients. I get large roasts as I have a big family, so I cut a 5# rump roast in half and covered each half with the recipe ingredients (whole portion for each half, so doubling the ingredients). Had plenty of gravy for each that way. One poster had mentioned maybe adding salt....I can't even imagine as this comes out plenty salty...don't salt it! It was really good, but I gave it a 4 vs a 5 star because none of us found it spectacular, and my family said they preferred my "old way" of making roast. I would give it a 5 for ease though! I paired it with garlic mashed red skins (gravy gave it extra good flavor), and steamed green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Great recipe. I've made this twice already...each time I used two packets of dry onion soup. I've been glad each time. I would recommend low and slow in a crockpot...8-10 hours. Be sure to let the meat rest as the recipe recommends to allow the juices to absorb. This is what I did the first time and the roast was fork tender and absolutely wonderful. The second time I made this I put it in a crockpot 5 hours on high. It was still yummy and pretty tender but the extra time is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by firstfoodie
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Used half a packet of dried soup, as I was concerned about the sodium. Used fresh mushrooms. Added sliced onion and one clove of minced garlic. Served with kale mashed potatoes. So good, will certainly make again for a nice Sunday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Tenderest Roast Beef I have ever had. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The absolute best roast I've ever tasted. The whole family couldn't get enough. Simple to prepare and better than any high class restaurant roast beef. Received a lot of ''Wow Mom this is sooo good. Don't make it any other way.'' Used sirloin roast, but I would imagine that this would make any cut absolutely tender and delicious. Must be delicious with thick pork loins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was a real winner in our household. I had a smaller roast - only have the size called for in the recipe, but left all other measurements the same, and used fresh mushrooms instead of canned ones, and the whole family LOVED it, including two little boys 4 and 2 years old. We will make this again for sure - thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Beth, our picky eater, ate seconds. We did this in the crockpot and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Good! Better than I thought it'd be, actually. I chose this recipe because I accidentally opened a can of cream of mushroom the other day when I was looking for chicken broth, so needed to use that, and because I was gifted a couple of bottles of red wine over the holidays and I'm not a big fan of red wine (as a beverage, I mean, love it for cooking) and wanted to use some of that too. As this was a 'use up what I have' endeavour, I used stew beef instead of a full roast. I think I had about a pound and a half of beef, so if I made a 4 pound roast, I definitely would have wanted more gravy. It was also just a touch on the too salty side (but not so much that it was unpleasant) so in the future I might not add the entire packet of onion soup mix. I completely forgot the flour but I found it thick enough for me. Like a couple other reviewers, I cooked it in the crockpot, but I did about 3 hours on high and then about an hour and a half on low because when I checked it, it was starting to burn around the edges. It could have been a little more tender for my liking but that's probably because of the stew beef and turning down the temp. If I were to do it in the crock pot again, I'd probably do it on low 7-8 hours. All in all, very good though. It's very similar to a beef cubes-and-gravy meal my dad makes but the red wine took it to another level. The only downside to my meal was I made boxed mashed potatoes and their gloopy texture didn't do this delicious gravy justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States