Burgundy Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Love this recipe! Got it in the oven right now...2nd time making it. I add Yukon potatoes and cut asparagus during the last hour and cook it in my Dutch oven. Also, I browned the roast before adding the other ingredients just because that's what I usually do. Think the lil caramelized bits add a touch of extra flavor. Even my picky eaters love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This roast came out very tender with its own gravy. Tasted delicious! If serving with mashed potatoes, you might need more gravy. I used a can of beef broth, 1 ounce package of the same onion soup mix, 1/4 cup of the same red wine, and simmered this for a few minutes to thicken (add a pinch of flour to make it thicker). Add a couple tablespoons of the meat drippings if desired. The gravy flavors matched well with the meat flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
So simple! So good! I didn't change a thing and my husband (who hates mushrooms) finished his entire plate, went back for seconds then found a loaf of bread to soak up the gravy. This is getting saved to my recipe box and will now be a regular. I served it with roasted rosemary fingerling potatoes and a veggie medley containing Brussel sprouts, summer squash, parsnips, butternut squash, onion, and garlic also roasted. So delicious and the gravy fell victim to being smothered over the veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
The sauce was nice but my meat was dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
we made this yesterday and it was awesome. we needed comfort food and this was definitely it. we mixed all the ingredients together and we used fresh sliced mushrooms, served with rice and a glass of wine.....wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Fantastic! This is going to be my new recipe for roast beef. For years I have been doing the slow cooker beef; not any more, this is great! And as promised, very, very easy. Plus it made the kitchen smell marvelous, and the taste of the wine in the beef was perfect. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe, we always double all ingredients and use balsamic vinegar instead of wine. Also use fresh mushrooms if you have them, and we add a bag of baby carrots, and a bag of mini potatoes. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Was my first time making a roast. I did as one of the other reviewers suggested and cooked it in the crock pot on high for four hours. I also added carrots and red potatoes to the pot. Super easy and the end result was super delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Made it as is with no variation to the ingredients. I get large roasts as I have a big family, so I cut a 5# rump roast in half and covered each half with the recipe ingredients (whole portion for each half, so doubling the ingredients). Had plenty of gravy for each that way. One poster had mentioned maybe adding salt....I can't even imagine as this comes out plenty salty...don't salt it! It was really good, but I gave it a 4 vs a 5 star because none of us found it spectacular, and my family said they preferred my "old way" of making roast. I would give it a 5 for ease though! I paired it with garlic mashed red skins (gravy gave it extra good flavor), and steamed green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States