Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I've been making this recipe for a few years now. It's even easier if you have a bread maker. Just throw all of the ingredients into the bread maker, making sure to slightly beat the egg first. Run it on the dough cycle. Once that's complete, follow the rest of the recipe from step 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Great recipe! I have started a baking/cooking business and I made these to go with shredded bbq beef for sandwiches. After a few trys I got them exactly how I wanted them and they get rave reviews from the members of the social club I cook for. After the dough is mixed and kneaded I do let it rise in a greased, covered bowl for about an hour. Punch it down and turn it out and cut it into 8 pieces. I form them into balls and put on the greased sheet and flatten. Cover them with a light dish towel and let rise again about another hour. After this rising I brush some egg white on 4 of them and sprinkle with sesame seeds then bake as directed. I make onion rolls from this too. I just add 2 Tablespoons dried minced onion and 1/2 Teaspoon onion salt (decrease regular salt to 1 Teaspoon)to the flour mix (before the milk and eggs are added) and after the second rising I bursh egg white on them and sprinkle more dried minced onion on top and bake. The onion rolls in particular are fabulous with the shredded beef sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
499 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Instant yeast conversion: 1 package instant yeast is about 1 Tablespoon; to substitute regular dry yeast use 1 tbsp + 1 tsp (4 tsp total). Let it proof before adding to recipe, and use 2 rises. If using quick-rise yeast, use the same amount (4 tsp), add it directly with the flour, but omit the first rise; instead let it rest for 10 min. I substituted 1 cup of white flour with: 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/4 cup oat bran, and 1/4 cup flax meal. I also used sucanat (raw sugar) instead of white. Gives a very different flavour and it's a bit heavy, but still very yummy and better than store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
359 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These are SO soft and SO fluffy! ***TIP:*** after kneading dough just plop all of it in a greased bowl, cover and let rise for an hour in a cool oven (don't turn the oven on). The yeast creates heat and placing it in the enclosed oven keeps it warm and it will rise fuller and faster. Then take it out, punch it down and shape them however you want (They make great rolls too) in a pan or on a cookie sheet. Cover them and place them back in the cool oven to rise another hour. Take them out, uncover them, brush with melted butter or an egg wash, and turn the oven on and let it preheat. Bake as the directions state. This bread is the softest most delicious bread I have ever tasted. Also: I just threw my butter, water and milk in a bowl and put it in the microwave for a minute. If the mixture is really warm, but not too warm where you can place your finger in it and not burn yourself, it is the perfect temp. If the mixture gets too hot it will kill off the yeast and leave you with dense bread. ***1 packet of instant yeast is aprox. 1 tablespoon. I have a large package of yeast and do not use the little packets. So if you aren't using the packets either, just use a tablespoon full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
Excellent. I used my bread machine dough cycle and they came out perfect. I let the dough rise for an hour before shaping the buns. Then I let the buns rise for 35 minutes. The best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Awesome recipe! I just threw everything in the bread machine and had perfect hot dog buns! Wont be buying store-bought anymore...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Overall this recipe was good, not as good as some of the reviews I read prior to making them though. The rolls were a little heavier then I was originally looking for. I did find as other reviews stated you need to let them raise allot longer then the recipe said, I let mine raise 2 hours. I made 12 hamburger buns, but they weren't as big as I really like. Next time would only make 9 to get the size I really want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
These were easy to make, but a little on the dense side. I would try the recipe again with a little more yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
Okay, I admit, it could have been me, but these turned out really bad. It made 8 hamburger buns that were flat and dense. I was so excited to find this recipe but I guess I will have to keep searching for a good one. :0( Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
These are so delicious! I just put everything in my bread machine on the dough cycle and followed the rest of the recipe. My husband loves them and is requesting them all the time! They are so much better than store bought and taste like they are from a fancy burger joint. I don't think we will ever buy store bought buns again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States