Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I mixed this up on the dough cycle in my breadmaker. I baked the rolls in my convection oven after brushing them with egg-wash and sprinkling some of them with poppy seeds, sesame seeds, and dried onion flakes. They were delicious! Used them for pulled pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I've made these several times now. I've gotta admit, though, that my first attempt turned out a tray of bricks. The problem was my active dry yeast. Now I add 3.25 tsp active dry yeast to the Milk, Water and Sugar mixture that has been heated between 110-115F. Give it a stir and start getting everything else ready. The yeast needs around 10 minutes to activate with the liquid and sugar. (it'll start getting foamy) For me that made all the difference! Like others here I do 2 rises. For consistency, I weigh dough balls when splitting them out after the first rise. 3oz for hamburgers, 2.5oz for hot dogs. Last batch I used 25% wheat flour and they were awesome with some pulled pork! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I'm lacking words to describe how good these are. I don't have instant yeast, so I use regular active dry yeast instead and let it rise twice, once after kneading the dough, and then again after putting the buns on the cookie sheets. I do not cover them, because for some reason they don't rise as much if I do. But I do brush the buns with buttermilk before letting them rise. It keeps them from drying out and gives them a nice color, and it doesn't affect the flavor at all. I make them pretty much on a daily basis, they are so good they don't last long here. They are very versatile. We use them for burgers and hot dogs (they make burgers taste gourmet), we eat them for breakfast with honeybutter or butter and Nutella, and we eat them for pretty much any meal, or outside meals, with butter, Black Forest ham, and swiss cheese. Or whatever else we come up with. They are always delicious. Cream cheese and strawberry jam, yum! Sometimes I put sesame seeds on top too. Anyway, these are absolutely perfect. I don't think there's any room for improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Oh. My. Hot. Dogs! I'm a beginning baker. This is, literally, the 2nd bread I've made. I was pretty loose with the directions (because I hate precision) and they came out fantastic. EXACTLY like the fresh-baked buns from our local supermarket that hubs normally buys at $3 for 8 buns. I didn't use all the flour, because the dough seemed to be pulling away from the sides of the bowl. I think I left out the last cup. I added quite a bit back in during kneading, as in the video. All else is as written. First rise was 1.5 hours, the dough was nearly triple in size. Maybe it's because it's May in Tampa and the house is a bit warm, about 75º. I punched it down, shaped it into 16 hot dog rolls, let rise on a greased baking sheet for another 35-45 minutes, then baked. They were perfect at 12 minutes. After they cooled, I stored them in the fridge in ziplock bags. 15 seconds in the micro and 4 buns were soft and room temp, ready to go. Some of them aren't very pretty, and the size is anything but uniform, but don't judge. It's my 1st attempt, and hubs and I agree this is a winner. I'll get the shaping thing figured out! Oh, yeah, we're not buying buns ever again. I might brush the tops with milk or melted butter the next time, to get that golden glaze we love, but I swear it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This recipe is fantastic!!! I used half all-purpose flour & half whole wheat flour. I don't eat eggs so I substituted 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce. I used my bread machine on the dough cycle & continued with step 3. They turned out light, fluffy & delicious! I won't be buying store-bought buns again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
These buns were easy to make and so delicious. my husband was amazed at how light and fluffy they were. My buns were a little big so next time i will just make them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
These buns turned out amazing! They were light and fluffy, and tasted exactly like hamburger buns. Definitely could not make 12 buns out of the amount of dough. We ended up making 8 large buns, and had enough dough left over for a small bun. So one could probably make 9 regular sized buns, or just 8 super sized buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
i used whole wheat flour and apf, still came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I didn't really care for the taste of these. I used part whole wheat flour, but there was nothing special about them...I am not sure what it was that didn't do it for me...but it just seems to be an okay recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This turned out great, like other people have said a little dense, but they turned out great, and everyone at my bbq loved them. I only say dense because it was more like a bun than bread and people might expect it to be like light fluffy bread. I did let the dough rise for about 3-4 hrs each time I made this and I think this helped a lot, and then after I shaped them let them rise for another hour. I made hot dog and hamburger buns, both were great. I also used slightly less flour than the recipe called for .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States