Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Tip: place the dough in a bowl with a towel over it and set it on top of a hot water-bottle. The dough will rise better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUIYA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Los Banos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
My husband was eating the buns even without the burgers in them. I made a completely whole wheat version since that was the only flour I had. I just sifted it so to help it not be too dense. They came out perfect. Denser but still a fluffy bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Wow these are good!!! I followed the recipe for the most part but used my food processor for the mixing and kneading (less mess to clean up) and I followed Camilea's advice and let it rise for an hour in a bowl, shape the buns then let the rise for another hour. I did this because I did not have instant yeast, it worked well. These are wonderful, I can't imagine wanting store bought buns again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Living In: Hooversville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Yum! :) I made it together with my husband. We took out 1 cup of all-purpose flour and replaced it with one cup of whole wheat flour. At first, the dough was a little dense. But I followed what others said, like normal bread, let it rise for an hour, then I made the balls and let it rise for another 30 minutes. They turned out fantastic. Nice and soft, didn't crumble when cutting through the middle. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Made these tonight. Followed recipe and one reviewer that suggested putting dough in a bowl and letting it rise for 1 hour and then shape into buns and let rise another hour. I never made bread of any kind before. But these did come out very soft and taste good. Next time I will just try the way of the recipe and see if shaping them and letting them rise for just 30 minutes makes any difference....I also had some dark spots on mine and my hubby said that was from air bubbles but I don't know...all the photos people posted here look perfect and no dark spots! I guess I have some more learning to do. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I found this recipe made good rolls and buns, I had to adjust rise time to accommodate my local weather. I will keep this one in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
120 degrees is where yeast starts to die. 140 and it is dead. DO NOT heat the milk that hot. The result will be bread that barely rises (since you have killed half the yeast.) 100 degrees is perfect. These were way too dense for hot dog buns. The dog squeezes out of the bun when you bite into it. There were great dinner rolls however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and these are the BEST hamburger buns I have ever had. Very light and tender. I let them rise 35 min and they came out perfect. Great for a fast weeknight dinner addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmedlife9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
My buns turned out great even so I forgot the egg - oops. Thanks for the delicious recipe! I did proof the yeast first in the liquid for about 6 minutes and then I added 1 cup of flour before adding the salt. Salt kills yeast, so you need to be careful and be sure you add some flour before adding the salt. After adding the rest of the flour (it was very humid today, so I probably used about 5 cups flour) and kneading the dough, I did put it in a greased bowl and let it rise for an hour. Then I punched it down and kneaded out the air bubbles and let it rest for about 15 minutes before shaping into the buns. I then let them rise for about 30 minutes. The first batch didn't bake as nicely because the oven wasn't hot enough at 400 degrees, so I upped the temp to 450 and they were perfect after about 10 minutes. I did put a pan in the bottom and poured in hot water at the start of the baking process to get a little steam going in the oven for the baking process. I also did an egg wash on the buns before putting them in the oven so they would bake up golden brown and shiny. They turned out lovely. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
These were okay, but a bit bland (an issue I often have with homemade yeast breads, so maybe it's somehow me). They were also a bit dense, but froze well, and looked beautiful. Might try again with more sugar/salt and a bit more yeast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States