Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Jodi Freeman
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Best buns! I used my bread maker on the dough setting and followed directions after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Did not rise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MonicaShanti
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Delish.. These buns were soft, fluffy and moist. My new go to recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonicaShanti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Awesome bun recipe. I was able to make twelve good-sized hamburger/sandwich buns from this recipe. The only change in ingredients I made was to use olive oil in place of butter as I don't have butter. I made the dough, let it rise in an oiled bowl for fourty-five minutes before punching down. Then I shaped twelve rolls, which I flattened slightly into discs about the size of a hockey puck and laid them out on waxed paper close together to rise for another thirty to forty-five minutes. Once they had risen to the size I wanted, I brushed them with a mixture of milk and egg yolk while I preheated my oven and a pizza stone on the bottom rack in the oven to 400F. Then I popped them in on the middle rack for eleven minutes - turning the pan around half-way through baking time. They came out PERFECT! I'll be using them for burgers and sandwiches this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
So easy! Divided into 16 slider sized buns. So fluffy and yummy. Husband was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made these tonight using organic ingredients. They are absolutely wonderful! Light, fluffy, and just what I was looking for! I will never buy buns again. I used my bread machine but had to add just a drizzle of luke warm water while it was mixing because the dough was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Huffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
WOW these are so good you won't believe that you could make them yourself mine were light and fluffy thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I just made those today to go with our first grilled burgers of the season. Better than store bakery buns. It's a keeper for my family. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was a very easy and forgiving recipe. I tried it for the first time but made a few adjustments due to the comments. I think a longer rest time will help increase success. Using a stand mixer, I mixed the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. I let the dough rest for 15 minutes before kneading. You could use the mixer to knead the dough instead of hand kneading. The dough was then divided into 12 equal pieces. After another 15 minute rest, I shaped the dough and placed them a a greased sheet pan. Let the dough rise for 30 minutes. Make sure the dough looks and feels soft (like a marshmallow) before baking. If it feels like playdough to the touch, then let it rise for a bit longer before baking. Brush with an egg and milk wash before baking for a nice golden brown top. Just a side note..Don't add more yeast unless you like the flavor of instant yeast. One package of fresh instant yeast is more than enough for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States