Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I've tried several hamburger bun recipes and I always come back to this one. Very, very good. I use the dough setting on my bread machine. I add a bit of the warm milk, water and butter to the whipped egg, just to make sure my egg doesn't cook. Works great! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roundup, Montana, USA
Living In: Flemington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I use this recipe all the time. It works great for pulled meat sandwiches. The rolls don't come out quite as soft as I like my hamburger buns though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GCBMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
OMG best buns EVER! I put all the ingredients in the bread maker at the manual cycle. The dough turned out so soft and elastic and the buns themselves were amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
So....I found that 120F is way to hot, and just might have killed my yeast. Another reviewer also noted that if the liquid is too hot to touch, then it will kill the yeast. Anyhow, this made decent cracker style pizza dough. Also, the yeast fermenting might not create enough warmth. So I was advised to turn on the oven at the lowest setting, and then turn it off. The temperature should be between 80-90F when you put the dough inside to rise. You should be able to keep your hand in the oven for a few minutes. I will try again with new yeast, and update my review. Thank goodness I only made half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These made great buns!!!!!! change the shape for sausages, hot dogs, hamburgers or subs. They hold great and I loved the comment about the bread maker - perfect every time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as specified except I put in 2 teaspoons of salt. I put the ingredients in my bread machine and used my dough cycle. Once the dough had rested for 10 minutes, I worked it until it was able to shape it into rectangle and instead of forming balls of dough and flattening them, I just used a big round biscuit cutter to make each bun. I let them rise another 1/2 hour and they came out perfect. I did rub butter on them when they came out of the oven to keep the crust soft. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe I have one question on how to make whole wheat buns I am kinda new to home baking from scratch any helpful hints for whole wheat I use my bread machine for the dough, also garlic buns how would I go about that using garlic powder or garlic salt. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
"WOW!" That's exactly what my husband said after the first bite. This recipe is GREAT. It was really easy. I followed the recipe exactly because this was the first time I made it. I did brush the tops with egg before baking, as a few people suggested. I made 12 hamburger buns, though they were kind of big. Next time, I might try 14 of even 16. The texture of these buns is NOT like the cheap Wonder Bread buns at the store. These taste fancier, more gourmet, like something you'd get at a nice sandwich shop or restaurant. They are NOT like the dense, heavy, brick-like buns I've made before. They were light, almost fluffy, but sturdy enough to hold a big, juicy hamburger loaded with toppings. I also waited until they were cool, sliced them all in half, and stored them in freezer bags. They thaw beautifully. About 30 seconds in the microwave, and they taste like they just came out of the oven. I will DEFINITELY make these again. Wish I could give it more than 5 stars. Thank you, Sally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I will be a chef soon and I do like to make bread and am always trying new recipes. I followed this one as is and was disappointed big time. The problem was with the proof time given. So I made them again this morning and allowed them to double in size before putting them in the oven. They were good. I did half as indicated in the recipe and I have the other half in its' second rise. i have a feeling they will be better. Hi folks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
These were wonderful and really easy to make. They came out soft and light. It took less than an hour from start to finish for me, as I heated the butter mixture in the microwave I used regular yeast and let the milk mixture cool a bit, then proofed the yeast in it then mixed everything in my KA, let them rise in a warm place for about 30 min and baked them for 11 min. Perfection. They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States