Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
You can't go wrong! These buns are delicious, easy, and FAST! I follow the recipe exactly, except for these changes: 3 cups of whole wheat flour (1 1/2 cups of white flour), honey instead of sugar, and coconut oil instead of butter. I mix and knead by hand, roll out the dough to about 1/2 inch thickness, then cut to the desired size of hamburger bun. (I make them smaller than the store-bought buns because who really NEEDS all of that bread?!) I let them rise 30+ minutes on a greased cookie sheet and then bake as directed. They have always turned out PERFECT ... rave reviews all around! We use them for pulled pork, hamburgers, tuna, lunch meat sandwiches, and even peanut butter and jelly! They are healthier, cheaper, and a million times more delicious than anything you'll buy in the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My kids love sandwiches made on these buns. I make mine with 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup ground flax seed per single recipe. Very easy recipe and the dough is wonderful to work with. I let mine rise about 10 minutes before flattening. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
The ONLY thing I found that wasn't spelled out for the newbies is this: EITHER Don't heat the liquid mixture until the butter melts or it'll be way hotter than 120 degrees- OR- Heat just the water and butter until it melts and then add the milk to cool the liquid. Awesome tasting buns, very soft, and SUPER easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The taste is not at all like hot dog buns and they were very heavy and much thicker and denser than traditional hot dog buns. I made these by hand, not in a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Holiday, Florida, USA
Living In: Berkshire, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
These are AMAZING!! My entire family, including 2 children under the age of 5 LOVED these. They were fantastic just by themselves as well as with the black bean veggie burgers I made (also from this site). I am a pretty experienced baker, but I am a novice bread maker. I used my bread machine's dough setting. My dough ended up being kind of sticky, but I added some flour to keep it from sticking to my hands and I was able to shape them decently. This must be a very forgiving recipe as they looked quite nice when they came out of the oven. There is a video tutorial on these, which I watched after making mine, and they show the butter as being melted. Mine was just softened butter, but they still turned out beautifully! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Thought it was a dryer bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is wonderful!!! I heated the milk, water, sugar and butter in a saucepan and then added them to the bread maker with the yeast. After 10 min I added the beaten egg, salt and flour (1 1/2 C bread flour and 3 C APF). Ran the dough cycle, punched down and shaped into 16 hot dog buns. Let rise until doubled, applied egg wash and baked. Super light and fluffy with a crunchy exterior! The best homemade buns yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this recipe tonight for the first time. I did make a few adjustments to the original recipe. I used an additional 1-teaspoon of yeast, and I increased the sugar to 4-tablespoons. I used real butter, which added to the amazing flavor of the bun. I made the dough in my bread maker as suggested by another user. In addition, I want to share several tip to you make the perfect bun. (1) If you do not have a scale to weigh each dough ball, use a 3/4-cup to portion your dough. (2) To proof your dough (make it rise), use the “warm” setting on your oven. Before you begin making the dough, set your oven to warm on its lowest temp (mine is 145), when you get to the portioning of the dough step, turn off the oven, it will be the perfect environment for proofing for the 30 minutes required in the recipe. (3) After the 30-minute proofing time, take the dough out of the oven and preheat the oven to 400. (4) I put my buns on the top rack to keep them from burning on the bottom,. Allow them to cool and be prepared to make your burger as soon as the cool. My wife and son both said the never had a fresh hamburger bun and never want a store bought one again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Have made these now 3 times. Always they are perfect, soft and delicious. This last time I did a cold rise for a slower fermentation. They were even lighter. The texter was so soft! These are the best buns I have ever tasted. I also used some of my Amish starter (recipe on this site) rather than the yeast. Gave a depth of flavor they didn't have before. I added a half cup of the starter instead of the water and added it after the Milk and butter was at temp. The starter was added once the milk/butter was added to the first flour mixture. I only cooked the milt to 110 degrees, I was worried about killing the yeast. Our wild yeast here is more like a sourdough but the Amish starter uses milk and sugar so it is a nice sweet starter with a delicate yet slightly sweet taste. Gave the buns an incredible flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I actually watched the video first and figured it looked easy enough. I even subbed in 1 cup of whole white wheat flour. I forgot to add the egg and it still came out pretty good (not super soft). I also had to put the butter mix in the refrigerator to cool it down to 120.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States