Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
My buns turned out great even so I forgot the egg - oops. Thanks for the delicious recipe! I did proof the yeast first in the liquid for about 6 minutes and then I added 1 cup of flour before adding the salt. Salt kills yeast, so you need to be careful and be sure you add some flour before adding the salt. After adding the rest of the flour (it was very humid today, so I probably used about 5 cups flour) and kneading the dough, I did put it in a greased bowl and let it rise for an hour. Then I punched it down and kneaded out the air bubbles and let it rest for about 15 minutes before shaping into the buns. I then let them rise for about 30 minutes. The first batch didn't bake as nicely because the oven wasn't hot enough at 400 degrees, so I upped the temp to 450 and they were perfect after about 10 minutes. I did put a pan in the bottom and poured in hot water at the start of the baking process to get a little steam going in the oven for the baking process. I also did an egg wash on the buns before putting them in the oven so they would bake up golden brown and shiny. They turned out lovely. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
These were okay, but a bit bland (an issue I often have with homemade yeast breads, so maybe it's somehow me). They were also a bit dense, but froze well, and looked beautiful. Might try again with more sugar/salt and a bit more yeast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Awesome recipe! The video was very helpful also. Tried this in the bread maker and just let it mix, didn't worry about letting it rise...turned out excellent! Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I mixed this up on the dough cycle in my breadmaker. I baked the rolls in my convection oven after brushing them with egg-wash and sprinkling some of them with poppy seeds, sesame seeds, and dried onion flakes. They were delicious! Used them for pulled pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I've made these several times now. I've gotta admit, though, that my first attempt turned out a tray of bricks. The problem was my active dry yeast. Now I add 3.25 tsp active dry yeast to the Milk, Water and Sugar mixture that has been heated between 110-115F. Give it a stir and start getting everything else ready. The yeast needs around 10 minutes to activate with the liquid and sugar. (it'll start getting foamy) For me that made all the difference! Like others here I do 2 rises. For consistency, I weigh dough balls when splitting them out after the first rise. 3oz for hamburgers, 2.5oz for hot dogs. Last batch I used 25% wheat flour and they were awesome with some pulled pork! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I'm lacking words to describe how good these are. I don't have instant yeast, so I use regular active dry yeast instead and let it rise twice, once after kneading the dough, and then again after putting the buns on the cookie sheets. I do not cover them, because for some reason they don't rise as much if I do. But I do brush the buns with buttermilk before letting them rise. It keeps them from drying out and gives them a nice color, and it doesn't affect the flavor at all. I make them pretty much on a daily basis, they are so good they don't last long here. They are very versatile. We use them for burgers and hot dogs (they make burgers taste gourmet), we eat them for breakfast with honeybutter or butter and Nutella, and we eat them for pretty much any meal, or outside meals, with butter, Black Forest ham, and swiss cheese. Or whatever else we come up with. They are always delicious. Cream cheese and strawberry jam, yum! Sometimes I put sesame seeds on top too. Anyway, these are absolutely perfect. I don't think there's any room for improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Oh. My. Hot. Dogs! I'm a beginning baker. This is, literally, the 2nd bread I've made. I was pretty loose with the directions (because I hate precision) and they came out fantastic. EXACTLY like the fresh-baked buns from our local supermarket that hubs normally buys at $3 for 8 buns. I didn't use all the flour, because the dough seemed to be pulling away from the sides of the bowl. I think I left out the last cup. I added quite a bit back in during kneading, as in the video. All else is as written. First rise was 1.5 hours, the dough was nearly triple in size. Maybe it's because it's May in Tampa and the house is a bit warm, about 75º. I punched it down, shaped it into 16 hot dog rolls, let rise on a greased baking sheet for another 35-45 minutes, then baked. They were perfect at 12 minutes. After they cooled, I stored them in the fridge in ziplock bags. 15 seconds in the micro and 4 buns were soft and room temp, ready to go. Some of them aren't very pretty, and the size is anything but uniform, but don't judge. It's my 1st attempt, and hubs and I agree this is a winner. I'll get the shaping thing figured out! Oh, yeah, we're not buying buns ever again. I might brush the tops with milk or melted butter the next time, to get that golden glaze we love, but I swear it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This recipe is fantastic!!! I used half all-purpose flour & half whole wheat flour. I don't eat eggs so I substituted 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce. I used my bread machine on the dough cycle & continued with step 3. They turned out light, fluffy & delicious! I won't be buying store-bought buns again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
These buns were easy to make and so delicious. my husband was amazed at how light and fluffy they were. My buns were a little big so next time i will just make them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
These buns turned out amazing! They were light and fluffy, and tasted exactly like hamburger buns. Definitely could not make 12 buns out of the amount of dough. We ended up making 8 large buns, and had enough dough left over for a small bun. So one could probably make 9 regular sized buns, or just 8 super sized buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States