Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
USE BREAD FLOUR! Excellent recipe when you use bread flour instead of all-purpose. I have tried many recipes using bread flour and each time it comes out perfect. Whenever I use flour I just don't get the same results. With bread flour, this came out fluffy, soft and yummy. Perfect for sliders and lasts a few days and still yummy. I have learned that any bread recipe is better with bread flour. Also super easy to make with a bread machine using the dough setting. Also, I normally bake my breads at 350 degrees for about 15 to 20 minutes and they come out golden brown on top. When I followed this recipe at 400 degrees, the top was almost burnt but not too bad. I will stick to 350 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I also like other reviewers let it rise twice. A few reviewers said it came out heavier than they liked... and that maybe they should have used more yeast. I don't think that that is necessarily the answer. If you have not used your yeast in a while you may want to proof it before you use it in your recipe. Of course proofing means a teaspoon of yeast or so in a 1/4 cup of warm water(110 to 115 degrees) to make sure it is going to grow adequately. You can even add a bit of sugar to help feed it along. If your yeast is old your bread will not rise and become light. Also I find if you do not add all the flour all at once you are better off. Work just enough flour in so that the dough is tacky to the touch... not sticky...just tacky. This will ensure that you do not add to much flour which would make your buns dry and dense and more flat. This recipe has great flavor. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I halved the recipe and make 8 hotdog buns slightly flattened. Made dough in bread machine then let raise 1 hour. Divided dough into rolls, then flattened and placed nearly touching on oiled sheet pan, covered with towel and let raise another 35 minutes. Baked about 12 minutes rotating pan 1/2 way through. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
The people who rated this low must have either been killing their yeast, not measuring the flour correctly, or both. I made this exactly as described and they were the best buns I've ever had. I've learned that you have to weigh flour because there is a big discrepancy between weighing and measuring. Measuring ends up in dense buns, weighing results in light and fluffy buns. I used my bread machine to make the dough, just put in the ingredients per the manufacturer's instructions and make sure to beat the egg a bit. The dough turned out pretty sticky, but i just put a little bit of oil on my hands to roll them into balls and flatten them. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Ramey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartley, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anika Farha
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
These buns were just "bakery-perfect"! I followed the recipe mostly by sticking to the comment made by CAMILEA. Her every single tip made my hamburgers taste 5 times more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anika Farha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The flavor was great! However, they didn't rise very well. After the first batch, I did a second, using a little more yeast (yes, it was fresh-I checked this time!) and still flat. I'm not going to give up though, I plan to tweak it a bit and see if I can get the beautiful buns that others have :) Will update when I get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great buns. Onky change I made was using 2 eggs. Gives them even better color. I use this for hot dog, hamburger and hogie buns. My wife no longer buys buns. Topping with seasame or cerely seeds is great. This is my go to bun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Nothing like a bun, more like a roll. Tastes good, but not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We really liked these! They had good flavor and texture, a little denser than most store-bought buns. Since they don't have added preservatives, plan on eating or freezing them within a couple days; that's about how long it takes for them to start drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Loved, loved, loved this recipe. I used the paddle attachment on a Kitchenaid for the first mix, the switched to the dough hook until the dough started "cleaning the sides" of the bowl. I then hand kneaded a bit until it was very smooth & elastic. I let it rise an hour, then benched the dough at 3.5 oz. & let rise for the 30 min. suggested, then brushed w/egg wash & topped w/poppy seeds & kosher salt. They were beautiful & sooo good. We will be making these for gourmet burgers at our culinary student's weekly restaurant. They are that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States