Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe , and was expecting soft and fluffy. What I got was dense bread like the texture of french bread. What did I do wrong? I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Very nice and easy to make, although it needs a litte time. Awesome flavour. My wife and my guests loved them Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I have done these rolls today and the result was AMAZING ! I have never imagined myself baking bread :) and I am so happy with this recipe that from now on it will be one of my favourites. I have done different shapes (Knot rolls, swirl rolls ,Cloverleave rolls)I also did a few in a muffin tray .Anyway thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodieWife
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
What I love about this recipe is that it can be made in an hour. The first time I made the dough, I used a Danish Dough Whisk. It took minimal effort to knead the dough into a smooth ball. The second time, I use my Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer, and the dough kneaded in about 7 minutes. My tip is: turn your oven onto WARM for 2-3 minutes, then turn it off (while the dough is kneading). This creates a proofing oven, where my rolls proofed beautifully in 25 minutes. I like to brush an egg wash and sprinkle with either sesame or poppy seeds. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this hoping for a great Bun recipe but ended up with a pretty good bicuit instead. I may try it again and follow the procedure more closely next time. The end result I came out with looked nothing like the picture... then again, judging from all the other pics sent in by users, it would seem that no one gets the same result. Like I said, it wasn't what I'd consider a bun but more of a bicuit... at least for a biscuit it was a pretty good one... great with butter and jam and probably good for a chicken sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaddyDave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly with all freshly bought ingredients, the only thing that was different was that I used whole wheat flour which I compensated time and used a little less flour. The result, the buns did not rise at all and did not fully bake through even with doubling the cooking time (probably because it was so darn dense!) Definitely not going to try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by olivera1975
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
THE BEST Hot Dog Buns I ever eat are the ones I did tonight from this recipe. Soft and perfect. Do not overbake. 10 min is enough ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe. I use my bread machine dough setting & have changed the ingredients a bit to make it healthier. Instead of 4 1/2 c. All-Purpose flour, I use 1 c. Unbleached Bread flour, 3 c. Whole Wheat flour, & 1/2 c. Rolled Oats. Increase milk by about 2 T. & yeast to 2 1/2 t. I also replace the butter w/Coconut Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Perfect Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
These turned out terrible for me, and I followed the recipe exactly. They were hard, dense hockey pucks. Not sure how I mess this up, but I wont' be trying these again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States