Burger or Hot Dog Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Wartface
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I use this recipe but I mix it differently and I use delayed fermentation to enhance the flavor of the finished product. I mix the the liquids, the yeast (I use 1/2 that amount of yeast) and all of the flour together just to the shaggy point in my KitchenAid mixer. Then I cover the mixing bowl and let it autolyse/rest for 30 minutes. Then I add the other ingredients and mix it on speed 4 until the dough passes the window pane test. Then I put the dough on the counter top and do 3 stretch and folds with a 20 minute autolyse between each stretch and fold. Then I put it in my proofing bucket and put it in the refrigerator overnight. That slows down your proofing and adds flavor. The next day I take it out of the fridge punch it down and final shape it and place my buns on a parchment lined sheet pan and cover it with plastic wrap so I can see when the buns have doubled in size. Once the buns have doubled in size I apply an eggwash (yoke only with a teaspoon of water) and some sesame seeds and bake them. These are technique's I learned baking artisan sourdough bread. This method takes exactly the same amount of "hands on" time but it gives you a much better tasting bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Mixed these the other day in my bread machine and found them to be absolutely delicious! I will definitely make them again, although I will cut the amount of salt to 1 tsp since I thought they tasted a bit salty. As for the amount of yeast, everything I could find about conversion said you can use the different yeasts interchangeably, so I used 2 1/4 tsp regular yeast instead of the instant yeast. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by New to cooking
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Turned a regular Sunday afternoon hotdog into a fun foodies meal! I used bread flower (cause it's all I had) and it very rich full buns! Also brushed it with egg and dusted with sesame seeds to put it really over the top! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New to cooking

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I tried these today with a mix of White Whole Wheat and Unbleached Wheat flour. They were so yummy my children ate a number of them without us even getting to the burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Use this recipe all the time . I mix the flour with 1/2 cup whole wheat , and 1/2 cup rye , the rest is AP flour . These are delicious and freeze well . We have used this recipe for making two loaves of bread at a time , and it is great also . Double wrap the loaves with a plastic wrap before freezing, and it will thaw easily on it's own and be just as fresh when cooled after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Love this recipe. Use it a lot for pigs in a blanket. My kids can't get enough. (Actually tastes like it would be good for a panettone base, too.) Of course being a rebel, I don't follow exactly: I mix all dry together, mix all wet together (sometimes don't even bother to warm liquids) and then mix wet with dry using my hands. Everything else is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Since finding this recipe I refuse to buy buns. I usually only need 4 buns so I take the rest of the dough and make pizza "hot pockets" with it. It is a perfect dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
These are perfect. Simple to make and really adapts to our lifestyle of making as much as possible without buying off the shelf. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steelville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cherryville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Wonderful recipe, my buns turned out soft pillowy, tasty and perfect. I brushed a beaten egg over the dough right before the oven. Cooked 14 minutes turning the pan at 10 minutes. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chriss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Not bad, a little dense for my taste I will tweak it. Overall it is better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Bridgman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States