Bunuelos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Try 2 eggs, and you can also use powdered sugar as a topping which is very good careful- the oil can spit, I know have two lovely burns on my arm and foot. I don't even know how the oil got on my foot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. This isn't the way to make true buñuelos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I remember white table cloths everywhere with bunuelos drying and then ready to fry. The cinnamon and sugar aroma in the air. Biting into a thin crisp bunuelo every New Year what a treat. My mom's were the best and your recipe is it....She always made from scratch and I am pleased to now have the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I should not have spent time on trying this recipe after I read the ones below but I gave it the benefit of the doubt. It never became a dough, it was more sticky and gooey and stuck to my fingers and would never roll out. Spent too much time trying to fix it by adding more flour. Had to go and find someone else recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Bunuelos were very easy make and they tasted like donuts. However, they weren't as sweet as I'd anticipated and I had to altar the recipe a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This recipe was to difficult to make. I wasted so much time trying to get the dough to turn out correctly and it still didn't turn out. I wasted time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I followed the recipe and the dough was runny, almost like waffle batter. I thought maybe if I kneaded it, it would thicken up? No, it became a gooey mess on my hands. I had to throw the whole thing out! I am STILL fuming over my wasted morning, while I spent precious time trying to fix this bad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NerdBride

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Bu~nuelos are not "cookies" as defined by American culture - that was only a literal translation of what they are referred to in Mexico. They are more like fritters. It should be noted that this recipe is a short cut of the authentic bu~nuelo, so if this is to much work, you can only imagine the real thing. To get a more authentic result with this recipe, roll out the dough as thin as possible while still maintaining enough workability to handle the dough without tearing/puncturing it. Also you can either incorporate a hint to anise to the dough itself or you can substitute the sugar/cinnamon topping for a melted anise and piloncillo (block of unrefined brown sugar)syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I was expecting the crispy light buneulos I was raised on. these were soft and a bit bland, more like a sopapilla. Not a bad recipe, but not a bunuelo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is an awesome recipe. My mom used to make these but instead of cinammon she added anise. Tasted super. This is as close a recipe to my mom's that I have ever encountered. You go girl!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States