Bunjal Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I would double the sauce part next time because it was so good. My Indian husband tried to steal my helping off my plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Pretty tasty! I used diced chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken for ease. Also, next time I will mix the tomato paste with spices before placing it in the pan so the flavors will be more evenly dispersed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Terrific - a good change of pace. I also doubled the sauce recipe for one chicken, and added some extra tomato paste so it would spread nicely (as the recipe wanted, it was *very* heavy on onion!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
this is one of my favorites. i have made this frequently. i use boneless chicken breasts to make serving easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I tripled the souce, and used skinless thighs instead of whole chicken, baked in the oven. It turned out great! Maybe next time, I will make more souce for the rice. Yumm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
it was ok, the reciepe was pretty bland, next time i will add a little more spice to it- maybe marinate the chicken in the sauce for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
very good dish. nice and easy to prepare. I added to the sauce so there was enough for the rice. I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Good, could use more curry though. Very taste and tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I was disappointed that the spices didn't come through more; next time I would rub them under the skin and inside, maybe before beginning to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was really easy and good! Instead of a whole chicken, I used just shy of a pound of boneless, skinless breasts cut into strips. I laid the strips over the sliced onion and only sprinkled a little bit of salt on them, not the full 1/2 tsp. They needed 45 minutes to cook, and then I drained what liquid was left and added the sauce. The sauce I doubled from the way it is listed (so, doubled twice from scaling down the chicken amount) I didn't have tomato paste so I used ketchup and omited the extra salt. I also used dehydrated celery flakes instead of celery salt. I added around 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. Since the sauce wasn't that thick, I added around 3/4 tsp of cornstarch as I mixed it all together in a bowl, then poured over the chicken. The end result was good, but I wanted more tomato flavor, so next time I will use the paste, but I will increase the amount. We served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States