Bunjal Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I love indian food, but have only tried making it at home one other time - tandoori chicken. It was so flavorful, likely due to the 24 hour marinading process it went through. This Bunjal chicken, which delicious smelling while cooking, didn't take on NEARLY as much flavor as I had hoped. I didn't even follow the directions of adding the "sauce" (more like coated onions) to the chicken at the end, but rather after only 15 minutes of the chicken cooking. Next time I will cut into pieces, put in a ziplock back with the doubled onion/sauce mixture then cook it 24 hours after marinading. It has some potential, is very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
**update: Tonight I remade this. First I cut the chicken into parts. Then I put them in a roasting bag with the sauce and cooked close to an hour. The flavors married much better and was very tasty. This recipe definately isn't a 3, but not quite a 4 either, although very close. The fragrant aroma in my home was absolutely wonderful. The chicken just didn't quite grab it. But, it is definately worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I made this recipe pretty much as directed except I made it on the stovetop using 1 lb of boneless chicken breast cut into chunks and used an 8 oz can of tomato sauce instead of tomato paste and water. I did end up adding more water as it simmered since it cooked off - I simmered it for about 20 minutes after adding the sauce and spices. Even though I used less chicken, I left the spices and sauce amounts the same as the recipe and I'm glad I did. Even so, there wasn't a lot of flavor to this dish even with all of the spices. I have to concur with the reviews that said it was on the bland side, as strange as that seems. I did add a few shakes of cinnamon at the end which helped a little, but I probably won't make this again. I much, much prefer the Chicken Tikka Masala recipe on this site even though it takes a bit longer to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Pretty tasty! I think the instructions are a little off on the method however. The last part says to cook the chicken in the sauce for 5 minutes. This is no where near long enough, and needs at least another 1/2 hour. In the end this was a pretty tasty way to prepare chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Amazing flavour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I used cubed boneless chicken breast, because that was what I had on had. It was ok, but rather bland. Next time, I'll double or triple the spices and sauce part, and let it sit for longer. My little brother liked it a lot though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Made double the sauce, and added it to the chicken a little earlier in the cooking, and it was awesome, the whole family loved it! My kids(3,5 and 7 yrs old) kept asking for more chicken! Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I absolutely loved this recipe. I have made it several times since I found the recipe and would eat it all week for lunch. It goes great with Indian Vegetable rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
LOVED IT! Wouldn't change a thing! Lip-smackin' good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Such wonderful flavor! I added mushrooms to the sauce for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States