Bunjal Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I would double the sauce part next time because it was so good. My Indian husband tried to steal my helping off my plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Pretty tasty! I used diced chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken for ease. Also, next time I will mix the tomato paste with spices before placing it in the pan so the flavors will be more evenly dispersed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Terrific - a good change of pace. I also doubled the sauce recipe for one chicken, and added some extra tomato paste so it would spread nicely (as the recipe wanted, it was *very* heavy on onion!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
this is one of my favorites. i have made this frequently. i use boneless chicken breasts to make serving easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I tripled the souce, and used skinless thighs instead of whole chicken, baked in the oven. It turned out great! Maybe next time, I will make more souce for the rice. Yumm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
it was ok, the reciepe was pretty bland, next time i will add a little more spice to it- maybe marinate the chicken in the sauce for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
very good dish. nice and easy to prepare. I added to the sauce so there was enough for the rice. I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Good, could use more curry though. Very taste and tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I was disappointed that the spices didn't come through more; next time I would rub them under the skin and inside, maybe before beginning to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was really easy and good! Instead of a whole chicken, I used just shy of a pound of boneless, skinless breasts cut into strips. I laid the strips over the sliced onion and only sprinkled a little bit of salt on them, not the full 1/2 tsp. They needed 45 minutes to cook, and then I drained what liquid was left and added the sauce. The sauce I doubled from the way it is listed (so, doubled twice from scaling down the chicken amount) I didn't have tomato paste so I used ketchup and omited the extra salt. I also used dehydrated celery flakes instead of celery salt. I added around 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. Since the sauce wasn't that thick, I added around 3/4 tsp of cornstarch as I mixed it all together in a bowl, then poured over the chicken. The end result was good, but I wanted more tomato flavor, so next time I will use the paste, but I will increase the amount. We served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States