Bundt Dutch Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this recipe in an aluminum disposable baking pan, 10 x 12 inches in size. It took 60 minutes to bake, was golden-brown in color. I used 4 golden delicious apples, which are sweet, so I used half lemon and half orange juices. I added 1/2 tsp salt, used 1/3 cup brown sugar on the apple slices instead of the 5 T sugar, and added 1 T molasses to the cake batter. The recipe directs to use the large bowl for the eggs, sugar, liquids; but then, the dry ingredients which were set aside (in what?) are to receive this wet mixture. I mixed the dry into the wet in the large bowl and went on my merry way. I haven't tasted this cake yet, but it smells scrumptious. I plan to take it to a bridge group tomorrow, after I decorate it with cream-cheese-icing flowers spaced so that each sits in the center of a small square serving. The top surface is perfect for minimalist icing. I'm certain it will be enjoyed. Four stars because a bit of work on the recipe would make it easier: 3 tsp baking powder = 1 T; use a scant T of vanilla and put it in the OJ so you won't forget it and the vanilla bottle gets safely stowed away; since the apples vary a bit, what's the harm in using 1/3 cup for the sugar that goes on them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
A Keeper... I rated this a 4 because I made some changes. I only baked it for 53 min. as per the reviews and people saying that 70min was too long. It came out perfect. I also added 3 tbsp. of greek yogurt, extra vanilla, 4 apples with extra brown sugar and extra cinnamon. I also added a cinnamon crumble to the bottom and served it with a caramel sauce to give it a little extra sweetness. It is not a sweet cake but my family loved it. I will save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Very dry and not much flavor. The cooking time is way too long, I cooked less than 70 minutes and it still came out super dry. Even if it hadn't been overbaked, the cake lacked any real flavor. Very bland. The apple filling was tasty, but it left a weird texture to the bread surrounding it, not really moist, but more soggy. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made it today...it turned out perfect and simply delicious. I did add one cup of walnuts and 1/2 tsp of salt. I baked it as directed, then added sprinkled icing sugar on top of it while it was still hot...I then printed the recipe to add to my recipe binder. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
great recipe! I made for a coworkers birthday and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Oh, my goodness. This is an amazing cake! I made it exactly as presented, and it was perfect. I was worried about the cook time because of the reviewer who said it was overcooked at 70 minutes. I checked it at 50 minutes, again at 60, and left it in for the full 70 minutes. It was perfect, not too dry or overcooked at all. I used a simple powdered sugar, milk and vanilla glaze on it after it came out of the oven. My entire family loves it, and are just amazed at how delicious it is. This cake just entered my family's recipe book of repeat recipes, a rare and unusual honor. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HelenMarie
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This recipe is very simple to make, and people are always impressed with the cake. My neighbour even referred to it as "the best bundt cake he had ever had." I generally bake it for 55 minutes, and then check to see if it needs more time. Just like every other cake, the baking time will vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelenMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
made this on Sunday. Hubby who is a big chocolate fan liked it but I took the remainder to work and got rave reviews on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gaarafangirl54
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I give this 4 stars because everyone loved this cake but i'm not a huge fan. It's not super sweet (which is why everyone else loves it) but i've made this cake so far 2 times. Keeper recipes for family events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made as directed. Like other users have stated, 70 minutes is too long. I baked it for 65 minutes and the outside was still a darker tan. Next time I will try 60 minutes. The taste itself was great. Next time I may add a little more vanilla and cinnamon. Another cook added 1/2 cup of sour cream. This may help make the cake a little more moist. For the topping, I used leftover cream cheese frosting (cream cheese & powdered sugar). Definitely will make again, but decided on four stars because the oven time seems off and no topping was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States