Bum's Lunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Quick and easy. I'm a big fan of all-in-one meals, and this is a good one. I thought it could use a little more pizazz, so next time I believe I'll jazz it up a bit with garlic and seasoned salt. However, even my finicky hubby liked it, so it will definitely be added to my dinner rotation. ***I tried this again for dinner over the weekend and used seasoned salt, garlic and Worchestershire sauce. I also cooked it on the grill. It was much better this time and was an easy cookout item.****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Quick....easy....adjust seasoning to what you like yourself. Also great with PORK cubed steak ... also great to add worshteshire sauce....carrots....colorful bell peppers....anything you want reallY!!! Thnks again have made this recipe lots ... including tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Glenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seale, Alabama, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I would season the meat with Worchestershire and soy sauce, sprinkle it with season salt and maybe some garlic salt. Makes it taste MUCH better. Also could do it in the BBQ with ground beef instead for 15 mins on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I loved this! I did follow the advice of others and added season salt and a little garlic. I also whisk up a packet of Lipton Beefy Onion Soup and pour it on top of the meat and veggies! I layer the potatoes, onions, and added carrots. Very easy to fix for a small group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Jean
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
My family loved this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This recipe has been handed down from my Nan's Nan to my Mom and I use it to make our meat pies. The secret is in the butter (meaning don't be stingy with it.) Thanks for another way to use this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This little meal really was quite good. I made sure to use salt & pepper on my meat and poured some Worchestershire sauce on it too. The potatoes and onions were delicious. I did have to cook it for an hour instead of 45 minutes because my vegetables weren't quite done yet. Still, good meal. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
We really like this recipe. Used pork cubed steaks and lots of seasoning. came out delicious. I always make extras for hubbys lunch and he says it's even better next day. This works well on the grill or in the oven. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANGOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
A very fun idea but from reading the other reviews I concluded that it HAD to have more seasoning - I liberally sprinkled the meat with garlic powder and mesquite seasoning. I spread butter on the steak as directed, but also put a few more dots on top of the onion/potato layer before folding up the packet. I thought it still could use more seasoning, so I ate it with BBQ sauce. I would make this again for my own lunch, but not for company (unless it was part of a cook-out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
The meat was very tough and chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States