Bum's Lunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My daughter and I really liked this. I did marinade my steak for a few hours before cooking and added a little of the marinade to the packet - over the potatoes. I also added a bit of minced garlic in there as well. Since I had marinated the steak, I just put a little butter on top of the potatoes. It was very tasty! We will definately have this again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purplepixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is a good basic recipe idea for a simple and quick meal. The cooking time was a little off, I had to cook mine for about an hour, but the cube steak came out tender and so did the vegetables. I followed other reviewers advice and added Worcestershire sauce, but it was still a little bland. Next time I think I will add some garlic and maybe some Mrs. Dash to give it more flavors. Bottom line, I will definitely make is again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
We really like this recipe. Used pork cubed steaks and lots of seasoning. came out delicious. I always make extras for hubbys lunch and he says it's even better next day. This works well on the grill or in the oven. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANGOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
A very fun idea but from reading the other reviews I concluded that it HAD to have more seasoning - I liberally sprinkled the meat with garlic powder and mesquite seasoning. I spread butter on the steak as directed, but also put a few more dots on top of the onion/potato layer before folding up the packet. I thought it still could use more seasoning, so I ate it with BBQ sauce. I would make this again for my own lunch, but not for company (unless it was part of a cook-out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
followed exactly the recipe and their was no taste -next time I'll add some extra ingredients to spice it up but the meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Martinsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Really bland even whith lots of added spices. Should have added some carrots. It got a firm thumbs down from my crowd. Won't be it making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehzikah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I tried this recipe with the cube steaks (as written) and it was OK. I followed the advice to add more seasoning (seasoned salt, pepper, garlic, etc.) and that helped. I made it last night again to use up some London Broil and it was excellent! It took a bit longer to cook - 1 1/2 hours - but everyone liked it. I think it's a good, basic go-to recipe that you can adapt to make a decent week night dinner. The kids can even help to make the "packets"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I loved this! I did follow the advice of others and added season salt and a little garlic. I also whisk up a packet of Lipton Beefy Onion Soup and pour it on top of the meat and veggies! I layer the potatoes, onions, and added carrots. Very easy to fix for a small group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Jean
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This recipe has been handed down from my Nan's Nan to my Mom and I use it to make our meat pies. The secret is in the butter (meaning don't be stingy with it.) Thanks for another way to use this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I found this tasty. I added worcestershire sauce and garlic powder. I think it still needed maybe some celery or bell pepper. Quick and easy! no clean up to speak of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States