Bumbleberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This pie is absolutely de-lish!! I decreased the sugar, as my family likes it a little more tart. I also increase the flour when using frozen fruit or it turns out soupy. The previous reviews offer a lot of wonderful advice. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly as written and had no issues whatsoever. This is a VERY tart (yet delicious) pie and the sugar it calls for was the perfect balance for my black/raspberries & rhubarb. I'm not sure why the other reviewers thought differently...maybe their berries were sweeter than mine (which were sweet but more tart)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My husband actually requested a bumble berry pie even though we'd never tried one before. It was amazing! I used 3/4 cup of sugar as others had recommended and it was perfect for our taste. I used store bought crusts but made the top a lattice crust and it looked great. I would definitely make this again...super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
The first pie i ever made by myself and it was a huge hit. thanks for this recipe and the future pie confidence it gives me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Followed advice to add thickening to the deep pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good !! Made a 10 in pie yesterday, cutting the ingredients in half & I used my own pie crust recipe. It is wonderful!!! I added a little lemon juice & less sugar since my berries were sweet. For 1 pie, I used only 3/4 c sugar. Perfect!!. Since we are only 2 now, we sent some to our neighbors. They agreed, it's wonderful !! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I made this pie for a 10 inch deep dish pie plate. It's a Watkins collectable pie plate set given to me and all 5 of my sisters. I have to tweak every recipe to accomodate the pie plate. Once you have a pie plate like that a plain old 9 inch one isn't as good. This recipe turned out incredible! I generally just do a recipe 1 and 1/2 times for the filling. It works out just fine. I have researched many bumbleberry recipes and this one was the one I chose. I thought that it also had blueberries in it, so I added 2 pints of them to the recipe. I only used 2 c. apple slices, but did 2 pints of raspberries, blackberries and blueberries, and just one and a half cup rhubarb. I used 1 3/4 c. sugar and 1/2 c. flour. This pie turned out amazing. I should have had more thickening, will do that next time, but this is a real keeper, thanks Doreen for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I have made this pie twice. First time was a disaster(far too watery), second time was one of the best pies I made. I used blackberries, raspberries and a mango. Using the 4.4oz containers our stores(here in Toronto) sell raspberries and blackberries in as cups. I used three of blacks and one of rasps and the mango sliced thin. I sprinkled some sugar and a pinch of starch on the fruit and let them sit for an hour while Cynjne made the crust. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of starch to the flour and sugar mix. Adding the starch was a tip Cynjne picked up somewhere, it worked. She found the pie almost too sweet, but it is pie ... what do you want. lol She really liked the mango in the pie. It was really good. I am going to make it again in the next day or two. This time I am going to use more raspberries and add some blueberries. I may omit the mango. I am also thinking about using a peach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This pie is so good. I did as others sugested and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. I used blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, apples, and rhubarb. OMG, so good. It went so fast I had to make another one the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is probably the best pie I ever made.So yummy and a good way to use some of the rhubarb I have growing.Thank for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States