Bull Riders All Beef Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
okay, i am an experienced cook. did anyone stop to think that the part of the recipe that says '1/4 CUP oregano' may have been a typo? it reads like a sound recipe if you only put in a reasonable amount of oregano. like 1/4 t or 1/4 T. i'm new to this site. nonetheless, common sense should tell you something...just thought of something else..maybe they meant 1/4 cup FRESH oregano.that would make a tremendous difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I had to remodel this recipe quite a bit but we really liked it.First I salted and drained the eggplant and brushed it with olive oil, broiled then chopped it. I added onion and green pepper to this dish and it wasn't spicey enough for us so I added cajun spices. V8 juice instead of water and some other changes. but it turned out great! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This recipe is a good base for using stew meat. Depends on what you're looking for. I was looking for this type of chili and this has a good flavor. I didn't add the eggplant either, but the paprika and oregano give it a nice flavor. Had to add extra water because I chose to two cans of kidney beans. Very thick and meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I had stew beef and eggplant so I thought I'd give it a try despite the poor review. If you can get past your expectations based on the name, this is a workable dish. Not exactly chili, but a chili-like stew, as my husband put it (he would only give it two stars). I found the spices a little too strong despite using 2 lbs. beef and less chili powder and oregano than called for. Taste test before you add the final salt. Mine was very watery after 8 hours on low so I turned it on high and stirred a lot to get the eggplant to break down. I like the idea of adding eggplant to regular dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
would not make this again, no one in the family care for it at all, we only ate a bowl each and the rest went down the disposal, I so wanted this to be good to I was looking forward to it all day... not the chilli for us i guess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was terrible! It's the only recipe I've gotten off the net so far that was bad! I even tried to add stuff to it when it was done to give it some substance, but nothing worked. It's being fed to the dog now, really bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
If you have never had eggplant, do not try this recipe. The eggplant overpowers the dish. If you substitute with something other than eggplant, this would be an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Seneca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
YUK! I did not like this chili at all! I just don't understand putting in the eggplant - it was mushy and added little to the overall taste. Also I found the smell of the cooking eggplant very unappealing, which is probably another reason it was so unappetizing in the end. In all fairness, my husband liked it but he is a sweetheart and will eat almost anything I make and say it’s good. The kids absolutely refused to taste it and they are usually more adventuresome, plus they like chili! I only tried this recipe because I had some stew beef I wanted to use in a different way. I have now learned my lesson and will never again make a recipe that has not been reviewed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States