Bulgur Wheat with Dried Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Made this up as a breakfast meal. Did not use chicken bouillon, instead used a mix of water and apple juice - half water & half juice. Stirred in the cranberries at the end. Very tasty and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
my husband and 2 yr old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Good, simple recipe, but too salty. Like other reviewers, next time I would just use one cube of bouillon (1 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa a.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I used half of the bouillon powder and it was still way too salty. I'd suggest using 1.5 TSP instead of tablespoons. I also added a little sauteed onion and a clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I am trying to eat "clean" and so am trying to introduce new grains into my diet. This was my very first attempt with bulgur. This gets 5 stars from me, but only after a few modifications as it is a great base for tons of conceivable additions. I made it as stated except using broth instead of bouillon powder. It cooked perfectly but when I tasted it, it was seriously lacking something. I had already decided to add white beans to it for protein as I was eating it for lunch, but then I added lemon juice, then another taste said I needed to add sweet to balance the sour, so I added a bit of honey. This was good, but then it was a bit clumpy, so I added a splash of EVOO. Getting there! Added salt and pepper, yummy! Finally decided it needed some crunch, so after putting a serving on my plate, I sprinkled some roasted unsalted sunflower seeds. Yum-O! This is a keeper for sure, can't wait to play with it more and see what other variations I can come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
My boyfriend and I make this at least once a week as a quick, easy, yet tasty side-dish to pair with any meal. Instead of the 1 cup water, I use 1 cup chicken stock which really adds a rich flavor. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was good! Like others, I used chicken broth rather than bullion. I used 1/2 broth and 1/2 water. I did not have cranberries so I used raisins and added pine nuts. Additionally, I browned some shallot in the butter, before adding and boiling the broth-water. This was my first time using the cracked wheat and it was a big sucess at dinner! I will try it again with various other add-ins. Thanks for the simple and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I used one boullion cube since I didn't have granules. Nice flavor and perfectly done. It's good hot, warm, even chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Heed the advice from others that have said this is TOO salty! If you are using no-salt bullion, then it shouldn't be a problem, but most bullions in a jar and/or cube have a LOT of sodium. I loved the way that it smelled as it cooked, it reminded me of Thanksgiving. When it was done, I tried to counteract the saltiness by adding lemon juice and a little sugar. Completely destroyed it, so will try again later after I buy more cranberries. Good thing the ingredients are cheap! Looking forward to having the less salty version. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I did sub low sodium chicken broth for the water for a little added flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States