Bulgur Wheat with Dried Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was tasty but pretty basic. I used half of a bouillon cube to avoid over salting. I also added some two tablespoons of flax seeds when I mixed in cranberries, added a little crunch and some health benefits;) Some things I'd try next time - 1. Chopping the cranberries up a little, 2. Trying this with bacon or mushrooms (although I'd cook those things first and then add bulgur and water), 3. Adding some spices, I could see butternut squash chopped up with cranberries and some cinnamon; or oregano with mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I took the advise of other reviewers and cut the amount of chicken bouillon granules down to 1 teaspoon and I'm glad I did. One and a half tablespoons would have been way too salty. I also added some chopped green onions along with the dried cranberries. My husband didn't care much for this because he's not big on whole grains, but I thought it was quite good. I'd like to play with adding some other flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Delicious alternative to rice. We served this with a chicken entree and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jastroud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I've made it with and without cranberries - delicious! Instead of water and bouillon, I used 1 cup of low-sodium organic chicken broth. No difference! My 5 year-old even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pulaski, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was wonderful! I used 1 tsp 'better than bullion' instead of the granules. I added caramelized onion along with the cranberries. I accidentally left out the butter (but had caramelized the onions in olive oil, so that brought in a bit of heart healthy fat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I followed the recommendations of some users before me and used only 1 tsp bouillon granules and substituted margarine for the butter. I also added pine nuts, dried apricots, green onions and golden raisins and it was fabulous. A much more exciting alternative to rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
WAY too salty - definitely cut down on the chicken bouillon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I found this salty. I used regular bouillon and unsalted buttter. I'll make it again and try low sodium bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was good and quick. I reduced the boullion to 1 tsp. You don't really need to cook the bulgur, you can turn off the heat and let it sit for fifteen minutes, then fluff with a fork. Could easily be used as a breakfast if you take out the bouillion and add a little cinnamon. But I made it for lunch so I added some green onions and chopped almonds. In the end, I wish I didn't add the almonds. It added to much crunch and messed with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
delicious, simple, and amazing. yay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States