Bulgur Wheat with Dried Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Delicious alternative to rice. We served this with a chicken entree and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jastroud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I've made it with and without cranberries - delicious! Instead of water and bouillon, I used 1 cup of low-sodium organic chicken broth. No difference! My 5 year-old even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pulaski, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was wonderful! I used 1 tsp 'better than bullion' instead of the granules. I added caramelized onion along with the cranberries. I accidentally left out the butter (but had caramelized the onions in olive oil, so that brought in a bit of heart healthy fat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I followed the recommendations of some users before me and used only 1 tsp bouillon granules and substituted margarine for the butter. I also added pine nuts, dried apricots, green onions and golden raisins and it was fabulous. A much more exciting alternative to rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
WAY too salty - definitely cut down on the chicken bouillon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I found this salty. I used regular bouillon and unsalted buttter. I'll make it again and try low sodium bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was good and quick. I reduced the boullion to 1 tsp. You don't really need to cook the bulgur, you can turn off the heat and let it sit for fifteen minutes, then fluff with a fork. Could easily be used as a breakfast if you take out the bouillion and add a little cinnamon. But I made it for lunch so I added some green onions and chopped almonds. In the end, I wish I didn't add the almonds. It added to much crunch and messed with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
delicious, simple, and amazing. yay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was pretty good, but we found the cranberries (and dried cherries which we added as well) to sink to the bottom of the pan. They didn't seem to want to stay together. This tastes pretty homey, and maybe best suited as a stuffing for chicken or something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
DO NOT USE the amount of chicken boullion in this. Use about half, this was super salty the first time I made it. The second time, I used boxed chicken broth in place of the water and then seasoned it at the end so I could control the salt. The bulgar and cranberry combo is awesome - this is a great side for a weeknight meal - a real change-up from white rice or bland pasta as a side. The texture is hearty and filling. Buy a large bag and store it - great survival food as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States