Bulgur Wheat with Dried Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Good and really easy to make, but mine came out a little too salty. I will probably use a little less boullion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
We enjoyed this very much. I substituted low sodium chicken broth for the water and chicken boullion. The small amount of butter really adds to the flavor, as does the sweetness of the cranberries. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Super easy, tasty side dish. The second time I made this I used pineapple and ham. Great alternative to rice or potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaLC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estell Manor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
It was so easy to make and so yummy. I added diced grilled chicken right into the leftover bulgur and had a terrific lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. I used home made chicken stock, onions, a little garlic and parsley to balance the flavors. Bulgur is a high fiber, protein grain. Use it to replace rice or potatoes. B.J. Corpening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was good and quick. I reduced the boullion to 1 tsp. You don't really need to cook the bulgur, you can turn off the heat and let it sit for fifteen minutes, then fluff with a fork. Could easily be used as a breakfast if you take out the bouillion and add a little cinnamon. But I made it for lunch so I added some green onions and chopped almonds. In the end, I wish I didn't add the almonds. It added to much crunch and messed with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
We thought this was a great recipe. Like many other reviewers, I used chicken broth. Next time I think I'll try added some onion and maybe parsley or cilantro. Still, its great the way it is. ETA: I added onion and parsley with my second go around. It was awesome. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Very good recipe. This can be one of those dishes that is different everytime you make it, depending on what's in the fridge. Next time I'll try pine nuts and basil. It seemed alot like a short grain rice or a couscous. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This was so salty that I couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was pretty good, but we found the cranberries (and dried cherries which we added as well) to sink to the bottom of the pan. They didn't seem to want to stay together. This tastes pretty homey, and maybe best suited as a stuffing for chicken or something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States