Building Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This recipe goes against all "rules" of typical rolled cookies. This dough needs to be *hot* to be workable, and I wouldn't use any flour at all while rolling - the shortening keeps the dough from sticking to anything, and extra flour just makes a goo out of the oil. I microwaved the dough for about 10-20 seconds between each rolling, and the results seem fine and strong. The flour-to-liquid ratio is critical in this recipe. I was very light-handed with the flour, and it turned out fine. You might want to sift the flour first, or spoon it very lightly into the measuring cup. I also doubled the spices and added 2 t. cinnamon and 1 t. allspice for extra flavor. I was able to make 2 6-inch square roof pieces, 2 5x5-inch side walls, and 2 front/back pieces extending up to 7 inches tall - and I still had plenty of leftover dough for trees, a chimney, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
To all those who have tried this recipe and ended up with a crumbly mess (like me!) I have some valuable advice. Once you've melted the shortening, keep the heat on medium as you add the rest of the ingredients GRADUALLY using a whisk to mix it in, rather than dumping all the dry ingredients in all at once. Keeping it over the heat helped keep it warm and pliable. It's amazing how much of a difference this all made. It turned out PERFECTLY and I will be sure to use this recipe every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
My first time doing a gingerbread house and working with gingerbread dough. I worked the dough in between plastic wrap and it made it so much more workable. It was perfect as well as the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This was the first time i've ever made a gingerbread house... i found that while the dough was still warm it was easy to work with..as it cooled down i had to add water because it got crumbly..i thought it was a great recipe..the frosting was also excellent glue! i will definately use them both again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This is a great recipe that doesn't puff too much for houses. As other reviewers have noted, it is a bit crumbly so I sprinkled warm water on the dough, mixed it in by hand when necessary and it was perfectly workable. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA DEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This recipe is great, but to make it easier for the beginner to work with, I'd suggest taking the yolks from the eggs --you're using 2 whites for the frosting - and add them to the dough mixture. Any good baker knows not to pack flour either, the only ingredient you usually ever pack is brown sugar, so be sure to measure flour by sifting or spooning and level it carefully with the blade of a knife and you'll have a terrific house. The icing works great even heavy things like ribbon candy can be 'glued on' with it. This was a fun little house to build.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This was a great recipe. It was my first attempt at making a gingerbread. A word of advice, I cut the flour by about 1/4 cup, and before each side was rolled, I microwaved the dough for a few seconds to keep it warm and pliable. (It crumbled when I didn't do this)The frosting is great. We were able to "glue" the house and have it set within 20 minutes. I'll definitely do this again next year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This was my first attempt at making a Gingerbread house. This is an excellent, easy recipe. Thanks to Doris C for the advice. It was helpful and made the dough perfect. This will defintely become a family tradition.(Even my husband had fun helping!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This was so much fun to make and snack on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I made a double batch. I had to add one extra cup of shortening, then 3 eggs to get a consistency I could roll and form. Even with the additional ingredients I had a had time getting the shapes to not crack. The icing was superb and held together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States