Building Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
If you are looking for a strong firm gingerbread that will not spread or warp this is it. BUT, having said that, you need to realize that this is not your typical cookie dough recipe. This is a HOT cookie dough and if you let it cool down you will have a crumbly mess. I followed other reviews and added the hot mixture to the dry (minus one cup of flour for my double batch) and mixed until combined. To roll out the dough I covered my cookie sheet with parchment and microwaved a large handful of dough for 25-40 seconds until it was very warm and soft. Working quickly I rolled the dough out on my prepared cookie sheet cut out my pattern and removed the (by now) crumbling dough extras. My pieces took between 15-18 min. to bake but I was making large walls mostly. Once I removed them from the oven I quickly put my pattern back on the cooked pieces and trimed the edges to ensure that my building's edges were straight. This recipe was VERY different from anything I have worked with before but the results were just what I was looking for. This is not a recipe for beginning cooks but if you are up for a challenge give it a try. Just remember it needs to be warm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I gave it 4 stars because I tweeked the recipe to make it a 5 star! What I did different: I used 4 3/4 cups of flour instead of 5. And I added a little bit of cinnamon and cloves to make it smell yummy. I put all the dry ingredients into my mixer bowl then proceeded to make the shortening, molasses, sugar mix. After I melted the shortening on the stove and mixed in the sugar and molasses, I added it to my mixer bowl (that already held the flour mixture in it.) mixed throroughly for about 1 minute. I formed it into a big ball, then I put it all into a gallon sized ziploc bag. From there, I took 1/3 of the dough out of the ziploc and rolled it out onto parchment paper, did the cutouts and removed the excess(instead of the cutouts). Slid the parchment onto a cookie sheet and baked in the oven for 5-7 minutes. If the dough in the ziploc hardened, I popped it into the microwave for 20 - 30 seconds. The dough was warm to work with but easier. I didn't use any flour when rolling the dough out. It is fairly greasy dough if you warm it in the microwave. Just work quick and if it gets hard, put in micro. The pieces of my house turned out nice and hard. Perfect to build with!!! Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loomis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I should have read the reviews prior to starting. As with most people, this came out very crumbly, we added another 1/4 C. oil to mix. It was very hard to work so we rolled it out directly on the greased cookie sheet and cut pieces to size, left the pieces on the cookie sheet removed the excess and baked the peices. The end result was a great looking house, just a little hard to work the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
this was more the consistancy of graham cracker powder by the time it finished mixing, it did not hold up well at all, it was nearly impossible to roll out and to get the shapes measured out right, i would not recomend this recipe to a beginning baker at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Linske
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I had success building this gingerbread house but did have to start over because I didn't roll out the dough soon enough and it got to be too stiff. But it was fun to decorate and fairly easy to cut out using the gingerbread diagram on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Linske

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLOOP30
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Crumble, Crumble, Crumble mess. I had to microwave dough and add corn syrup to smooth it out enough to work with. I don't know how the recipe found its way into the book but, hats off to those who can pull this one off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOOP30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I tried this recpe and the dough became crumbly. I don't know what happened, I went by the directions and I ended up throwing it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
The dough comes out very crumbly, it comes out to the consistency of pie crust, only slightly more crumbly still. I read the reviews and they were very helpful, thanks everyone! This was my first house and it came out good. I used a combination of heating in the microwave and sprinkling water on it and with that i was able to get the shapes cut. Also the recipe says it yeilds 1 house, i think maybe that should have been more specific, i had to make two batches to make the house. And these are also very strong on the molasses (they taste like molasses cookies) but they taste good. All in all good recipe is great but hard for the beginner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mancelona, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
The dough came out a bit crumbly, but I just pressed it into my mold and it baked out wonderful. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was my second gingerbread house attempt. I ended up adding an extra cup of shortening to it to try to fix the crumbly mess I got, and I was only able to make wall-shapes after re-melting the crumbles (and burning it) on the stovetop. However, the walls certainly were hard and stable, especially after re-burning them in the oven. It doesn't really matter what they looked like or tasted like, though, because if you cover it up with enough icing and candy no one can tell anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States