Building Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Kate Linske
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I had success building this gingerbread house but did have to start over because I didn't roll out the dough soon enough and it got to be too stiff. But it was fun to decorate and fairly easy to cut out using the gingerbread diagram on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Linske

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLOOP30
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Crumble, Crumble, Crumble mess. I had to microwave dough and add corn syrup to smooth it out enough to work with. I don't know how the recipe found its way into the book but, hats off to those who can pull this one off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOOP30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I tried this recpe and the dough became crumbly. I don't know what happened, I went by the directions and I ended up throwing it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
The dough comes out very crumbly, it comes out to the consistency of pie crust, only slightly more crumbly still. I read the reviews and they were very helpful, thanks everyone! This was my first house and it came out good. I used a combination of heating in the microwave and sprinkling water on it and with that i was able to get the shapes cut. Also the recipe says it yeilds 1 house, i think maybe that should have been more specific, i had to make two batches to make the house. And these are also very strong on the molasses (they taste like molasses cookies) but they taste good. All in all good recipe is great but hard for the beginner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mancelona, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
The dough came out a bit crumbly, but I just pressed it into my mold and it baked out wonderful. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was my second gingerbread house attempt. I ended up adding an extra cup of shortening to it to try to fix the crumbly mess I got, and I was only able to make wall-shapes after re-melting the crumbles (and burning it) on the stovetop. However, the walls certainly were hard and stable, especially after re-burning them in the oven. It doesn't really matter what they looked like or tasted like, though, because if you cover it up with enough icing and candy no one can tell anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This recipe goes against all "rules" of typical rolled cookies. This dough needs to be *hot* to be workable, and I wouldn't use any flour at all while rolling - the shortening keeps the dough from sticking to anything, and extra flour just makes a goo out of the oil. I microwaved the dough for about 10-20 seconds between each rolling, and the results seem fine and strong. The flour-to-liquid ratio is critical in this recipe. I was very light-handed with the flour, and it turned out fine. You might want to sift the flour first, or spoon it very lightly into the measuring cup. I also doubled the spices and added 2 t. cinnamon and 1 t. allspice for extra flavor. I was able to make 2 6-inch square roof pieces, 2 5x5-inch side walls, and 2 front/back pieces extending up to 7 inches tall - and I still had plenty of leftover dough for trees, a chimney, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
To all those who have tried this recipe and ended up with a crumbly mess (like me!) I have some valuable advice. Once you've melted the shortening, keep the heat on medium as you add the rest of the ingredients GRADUALLY using a whisk to mix it in, rather than dumping all the dry ingredients in all at once. Keeping it over the heat helped keep it warm and pliable. It's amazing how much of a difference this all made. It turned out PERFECTLY and I will be sure to use this recipe every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
My first time doing a gingerbread house and working with gingerbread dough. I worked the dough in between plastic wrap and it made it so much more workable. It was perfect as well as the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This was the first time i've ever made a gingerbread house... i found that while the dough was still warm it was easy to work with..as it cooled down i had to add water because it got crumbly..i thought it was a great recipe..the frosting was also excellent glue! i will definately use them both again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States