Building Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This gingerbread is great for building! It's the firmest recipe I've found so far. It was really dry, probably because I let the molasses cool a little before adding the dry ingredients, but after warming up the crumbly dough in the microwave and added a splash of water, I was able to roll it back together for the most part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Amos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
sorry to give the mid-star rating... it's probably more something I did wrong. it just didn't really turn out like it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abreitbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
yum great recipe, but add the mix slowly and stop when you can't stir it. i made 2 little houses (not sure if good or bad)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little ed

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
First review... I was so scared to make this recipe! Never baked a gingerbread house before but had always wanted to... my daughter needed to bake one for her German class and she found this recipe. So we took the plunge today and so far so good! Followed all instructions. Made two batches because I don't always have good luck with doubling recipes... two batches later we have a house ready for a roof! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. I usually use a different recipe to make my gingerbread house, but decided to change it up this year as I've never been thrilled with the other one. I was a little skeptical at first, but I decided to give it a go. I did as others suggested and VERY carefully measured the flour and added it into the pan slowly using a spatula. I wasn't sure from the recipe instructions when to turn off the heat so I waited until I had some of the flour in the pan and mixed in then took the pan off the heat and stirred in the remaining flour. The dough was warm, but not too hot when I went to roll it out. I used my stenciles (cut out form a cereal box) to measure the dough on parchment paper and left it directly on the pan (it's difficult to move the large pieces from a rolling board) then when they came out of the oven, I immediately put the stencil on the still warm dough and used a pizza cutter to cut along the edges that were not straight and uniform any longer, this worked great to give me uniform sides and roof pieces that baked up perfectly flat (unlike my other recipe that would bubble and give a wobbly looking house). I love this icing/cement recipe too, I only made half and put it into my mechanical icing piper and it is still not cement hard! Makes it perfect for sticking pieces onto the house and decorating!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I worked with this recipe for about two hours last night only to run out of dough at the end. I was only making one house but there's not enough for the roof. The dough got crumbly fast so I also did the microwave thing. We all have the day off from school today (snow day in Maine!) so my son's and I will try to put the finished parts together (sans roof) and see what happens!! Thanks for the recipe. I'll try again next year. Merry Christmas! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
If you are looking for a strong firm gingerbread that will not spread or warp this is it. BUT, having said that, you need to realize that this is not your typical cookie dough recipe. This is a HOT cookie dough and if you let it cool down you will have a crumbly mess. I followed other reviews and added the hot mixture to the dry (minus one cup of flour for my double batch) and mixed until combined. To roll out the dough I covered my cookie sheet with parchment and microwaved a large handful of dough for 25-40 seconds until it was very warm and soft. Working quickly I rolled the dough out on my prepared cookie sheet cut out my pattern and removed the (by now) crumbling dough extras. My pieces took between 15-18 min. to bake but I was making large walls mostly. Once I removed them from the oven I quickly put my pattern back on the cooked pieces and trimed the edges to ensure that my building's edges were straight. This recipe was VERY different from anything I have worked with before but the results were just what I was looking for. This is not a recipe for beginning cooks but if you are up for a challenge give it a try. Just remember it needs to be warm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I gave it 4 stars because I tweeked the recipe to make it a 5 star! What I did different: I used 4 3/4 cups of flour instead of 5. And I added a little bit of cinnamon and cloves to make it smell yummy. I put all the dry ingredients into my mixer bowl then proceeded to make the shortening, molasses, sugar mix. After I melted the shortening on the stove and mixed in the sugar and molasses, I added it to my mixer bowl (that already held the flour mixture in it.) mixed throroughly for about 1 minute. I formed it into a big ball, then I put it all into a gallon sized ziploc bag. From there, I took 1/3 of the dough out of the ziploc and rolled it out onto parchment paper, did the cutouts and removed the excess(instead of the cutouts). Slid the parchment onto a cookie sheet and baked in the oven for 5-7 minutes. If the dough in the ziploc hardened, I popped it into the microwave for 20 - 30 seconds. The dough was warm to work with but easier. I didn't use any flour when rolling the dough out. It is fairly greasy dough if you warm it in the microwave. Just work quick and if it gets hard, put in micro. The pieces of my house turned out nice and hard. Perfect to build with!!! Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loomis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I should have read the reviews prior to starting. As with most people, this came out very crumbly, we added another 1/4 C. oil to mix. It was very hard to work so we rolled it out directly on the greased cookie sheet and cut pieces to size, left the pieces on the cookie sheet removed the excess and baked the peices. The end result was a great looking house, just a little hard to work the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
this was more the consistancy of graham cracker powder by the time it finished mixing, it did not hold up well at all, it was nearly impossible to roll out and to get the shapes measured out right, i would not recomend this recipe to a beginning baker at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States