Building Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Worked out well. Very tasty yet crunchy. But for it's purpose, very sturdy. Good frosting too. I made sure it got more stiff by adding more powdered sugar because it held better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I found the same problems as many others when it came to a crumbly mess. I improvised by adding a couple eggs and some water to make it a little easier to deal with. That seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shadya
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I never made a gingerbread house before and wanted to try it. Molasses can be difficult to find in Qatar, so I used dark karo syrup and brown sugar. True the recipe was crumbly but did work when it was warmed in the microwave. Used templates and cut the dough with a pizza cutter. Gingerbread dough baked in the time provided and were cooled overnight. Instead of using Royal Icing to put the house together I used heated sugar syrup - 4 cups of sugar plus pasturized egg whites. The glue was great and assembly went quickly. I decorated the house with candy common to Qatar. Really enjoyed the experience of making a ginger bread house. The dough did not spread that much and the walls and roof were sturdy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shadya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is my first time making a completely homemade gingerbread house. I LOVE this recipe. With some of the comments I was nervous about trying it but this was simple and so fun! I made it exactly as directed and it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I am very disaointed with this recipe, it wasted a lot of my time and energy. I will definatly be looking for a new one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
i didn't change a thing in this recipe and it was wonderful! i rolled my dough out on parchment paper and cut out the shapes while on the paper. then i just slid it over onto the cookie sheet and baked it! very easy! i also kept the dough in the pot that i melted my shortening in so it stayed warm and pliable. just keep it on the lowest setting so the dough doesn't start to cook. i also took some jolly ranchers and hammered them a bit and added them to the windows of my house (which i cut out before baking) and i added them to the window holes during the last 5 minutes of baking. that made stained glass windows. i put a night light inside of my gingerbread house and it looks so cute when lit. great recipe! i will use it every single year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This is a great recipe. I read the reviews and was a little apprehensive, but started anyway. I don't see how anyone can mess this recipe up. Yes, it is really stiff dough, but if you work it while it's hot there's no problem. I heated up the shortening, sugar and molasses mixture until I started to get bubbles, then turned it off and added the dry mixture reallllllllyyyyy slowly. Just a little bit at a time. I turned out the whole mixture onto parchment and kneaded just to get all of the flour in really good. I rolled it out on parchment, and transferred to a cookie sheet to bake. I didn't need to add flour to roll it, didn't stick to my marble rolling pin. I baked whole sheets then cut out windows with my dremel tool. The gingerbread was rock hard when it cooled. Timing was slightly longer because I baked whole sheets, about 20 minutes. All in all, really easy and tastes okay. If you want to eat gingerbread I would use a different recipe. Also, added salt to the first batch, but it made it way too salty, left it out the rest of the batches. I will definitely use this recipe again. Ingredients were cheap and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nite_owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
nice mild gingery taste, you can build anything with it- the perfect edible Christmas decoration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Flavor is good, but just too hard to work with. The first roll out when it was nice and warm went fine, but after that it was a crumbly mess and I even reheated it and sprayed with water and it still was a pain. I was going to make some extra cookies with the leftovers, but I will go back to the recipe I used the year before next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I haven't done the icing, and I don't know if I will yet. So this is just the gingerbread. I love the recipe but I had to make a few changes. I don't bake much but my mom always told me that I could use veg oil instead shortening and I couldn't understand why I would melt the shortening when I can have veg oil. Also, this way I could use my stand mixer. ;) I also don't care for molasses much lass cook with it. So I used a dark corn syrup and I must say, it tastes great and still has that nice golden colour. I still had to warm it up in the micro like others suggested but a small price to pay to use the mixer. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States